Coupon
Two for Sorrow
by Nicola Upson


Overview -

"A new and assured talent....Nicola Upson is to be congratulated."
--P.D. James

Author Nicola Upson brings legendary mystery writer Josephine Tey back for a third investigation in Two for Sorrow , the spellbinding follow-up to An Expert in Murder and Angel with Two Faces Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Two for Sorrow by Nicola Upson
 
 
 
Overview

"A new and assured talent....Nicola Upson is to be congratulated."
--P.D. James

Author Nicola Upson brings legendary mystery writer Josephine Tey back for a third investigation in Two for Sorrow, the spellbinding follow-up to An Expert in Murder and Angel with Two Faces. Fans of P.D. James, Agatha Christie, and Jacqueline Winspear will relish this ingenious literary creation, as one of the most beloved mystery writers of the twentieth century, while doing research for a new novel based on a horrific case of multiple child murder in 1903 London, is drawn into a chillingly related hunt for a sadistic, present-day killer.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061451584
  • ISBN-10: 0061451584
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: August 2011
  • Page Count: 488
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.3 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-06-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

The 1903 execution of two women convicted for murdering babies, the inspiration for Josephine Tey's novel-in-progress, has serious repercussions more than three decades later in Upson's excellent third mystery featuring the author of The Daughter of Time (after 2010's Angel with Two Faces). Tey's former teacher, Celia Bannerman, who was the warder for one of the condemned women, aids Tey in her researches in London. Investigation of a seamstress's sadistic murder, which Tey fears may be a result of her own digging into the past, falls on Det. Insp. Archie Penrose, Tey's close confidante, whose relationship with the writer is complicated by her ambivalence toward another love interest. About three-quarters into the book, Upson upsets readers' expectations with a surprise that keeps the suspense high to the satisfying conclusion. Puzzle fans as well as admirers of psychologically rich crime authors such as Ruth Rendell will find a lot to savor. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews