Coupon
Unabrow : Misadventures of a Late Bloomer
by Una LaMarche


Overview - In between highbrow and lowbrow, there s "Unabrow."
"Take the cast of Bridesmaids, add a dash of pre-pubescent Eugene Levy, and you have the humor stylings of Una LaMarche." Ann Imig, founder of "Listen to Your Mother"
As a girl, Una LaMarche was as smart as she was awkward.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $7.25
 
 
 

More About Unabrow by Una LaMarche
 
 
 
Overview
In between highbrow and lowbrow, there s "Unabrow."
"Take the cast of Bridesmaids, add a dash of pre-pubescent Eugene Levy, and you have the humor stylings of Una LaMarche." Ann Imig, founder of "Listen to Your Mother"
As a girl, Una LaMarche was as smart as she was awkward. She was blessed with a precocious intellect, a love of all things pop culture, and eyebrows bushier than Frida Kahlo s. Adversity made her stronger...and funnier. In "Unabrow, " Una shares the cringe-inducing lessons she s learned from a life as a late bloomer, including the seven deadly sins of DIY bangs, how not to make your own jorts, and how to handle pregnancy, plucking, and the rites of passage during which your own body is your worst frenemy.
For readers who loved "Let s Pretend This Never Happened" and for fans of Mindy Kaling, Tina Fey, and Amy Schumer, "Unabrow" is the book June Cleaver would have written if she spent more time drinking and less time vacuuming."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780142181447
  • ISBN-10: 0142181447
  • Publisher: Plume Books
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 272


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Books > Humor > Form - Essays

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-01-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

New York Observer columnist LaMarche (who blogs as the Sassy Curmudgeon) offers a combo of quirky humor and rich fantasy life throughout this collection of 20 essays, which are interspersed with hilarious graphs, cartoons, and line drawings (the last of which range from “A Guide to Public Restroom Usage for Classy Ladies” to “Shit-List Bingo”). Originally conceived as a list of life lessons for her future children, the author warns that the collection is not intended for an actual child unless he is capable of “using the F word at least three ways in a sentence.” Childhood (and in particular, her near-obsession with her unibrow, tweezed at age 12), adolescence, and the trials and tribulations of young adulthood (shopping, driving, sexuality) are explored along with such random topics as how to clean a stairway while listening to “Stairway to Heaven,” and how to construct a Tootsie Roll log cabin. A child of the ’80s born of hippie parents, LaMarche is now a new mother in her 30s; her observations on parenting and marriage are especially humorous, including a brief index of common parenting mistakes, in which she shoots down both sides of such questions as whether to breastfeed, co-sleep, use disposable diapers, etc. LaMarche is entertaining and fresh; readers will want to savor this sassy, offbeat commentary. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews