Unapologetic : Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense
by Francis Spufford


Overview -

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $6.61
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Unapologetic by Francis Spufford
 
 
 
Overview

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062300461
  • ISBN-10: 0062300466
  • Publisher: HarperOne
  • Publish Date: October 2014
  • Page Count: 221
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Religion > Christian Life - General
Books > Religion > Christian Theology - Apologetics
Books > Religion > Religion & Science

 
BAM Customer Reviews