Coupon
Under a Painted Sky
by Stacey Lee


Overview - From the author of Outrun the Moon , Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

"This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com

All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 32 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
 
 
 
Overview
From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

"This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com

All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier.
But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail.

Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award
An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick
An Amelia Bloomer Book

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399168031
  • ISBN-10: 0399168036
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - United States - 19th Century

 
BookPage Reviews

To the frontier

It’s 1849 in rural Missouri, and 15-year-old Samantha Young is the only daughter of a Chinese immigrant. Like many fortune-seeking pioneers during the Gold Rush, Samantha’s father has plans to move out West—until a tragedy leaves Samantha orphaned and penniless. To make matters worse, she is then attacked, and though quick thinking saves her life, she accidentally leaves the attacker dead.

Disguised as boys, Samantha and a slave girl named Annamae escape into the frontier, where they’re not the only outlaws hiding out on the open plains. Their chances for survival are slim until a trio of young cowboys—rare, endearing gentlemen in a lawless landscape—take the girls, renamed Sammy and Andy, under their tutelage and offer protection and friendship. As the group of five head west, the dangers mount, but so do the laughs and camaraderie.

Stacey Lee’s debut is a beautifully narrated story about first loves, unbreakable friendships and family found in unlikely strangers.

 

Kimberly Giarratano is the author of Grunge Gods and Graveyards, a young adult paranormal mystery.

This article was originally published in the April 2015 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews