Coupon
The United States V. Jackie Robinson
by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and R. Gregory Christie


Overview -

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson's court martial trial--an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace--from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 27 copies from $4.47
 
 
 

More About The United States V. Jackie Robinson by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen; R. Gregory Christie
 
 
 
Overview

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson's court martial trial--an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace--from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin's Big Words.

Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day--separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie's rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062287847
  • ISBN-10: 0062287842
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: January 2018
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 11.1 x 8.8 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography - Sports & Recreation
Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > People & Places - United States - African-American
Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > Social Topics - Prejudice & Racism

 
BAM Customer Reviews