Coupon
Unorthodox : The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
by Deborah Feldman


Overview - The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape , featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 60 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Unorthodox by Deborah Feldman
 
 
 
Overview
The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781439187012
  • ISBN-10: 1439187010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: October 2012
  • Page Count: 254
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Religious
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
BAM Customer Reviews