Coupon
Up from the Blue
by Susan Henderson


Overview - Elegant and engrossing .Henderson is a talent to watch. Danielle Trussoni, author of Angelology" This is not a book you ll soon forget. Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants"The gripping debut novel from Litpark.com founder and Pushcart Prize-nominee Susan Henderson, Up From the Blue "is a dazzling tour de force that unfolds against the backdrop of 1970s America a tumultuous era of desegregation, school busing, and the early rise of modern-day feminism.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $13.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 76 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Up from the Blue by Susan Henderson
 
 
 
Overview
Elegant and engrossing .Henderson is a talent to watch. Danielle Trussoni, author of Angelology" This is not a book you ll soon forget. Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants"The gripping debut novel from Litpark.com founder and Pushcart Prize-nominee Susan Henderson, Up From the Blue "is a dazzling tour de force that unfolds against the backdrop of 1970s America a tumultuous era of desegregation, school busing, and the early rise of modern-day feminism. The story of an imaginative young girl struggling to make sense of her mother s mysterious disappearance, Up From the Blue "is enthralling fiction that delves into complex family relationships, in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Katrina Kittle, and Laura Kasischke."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061984037
  • ISBN-10: 0061984035
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: September 2010
  • Page Count: 320


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2010-08-23
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this elegant debut, Tillie Harris, about to give birth to her first child, traces her mother's tragic descent into madness when Tillie was eight years old. A weird, rambunctious girl, Tillie admires her eccentric mother, Mara, but when Mara refuses to get out of bed for several days while their father is away, Tillie and her older brother, Phil, are left to fend for themselves. When their father, a stern, emotionally cold army colonel, returns to find the house in a state of chaos, he begins a daily ritual of dragging his wife from bed and setting her crying on the floor, where she remains for hours. The colonel then accepts a job at the Pentagon and moves the family cross-country. Tillie and Phil arrive at their new home, but their mother is missing, erased without explanation. Henderson's fascinating novel fearlessly examines the complexities of depression, romantic and filial love, and motherhood. Beautiful, funny, sad, and complicated, Tillie's quest to understand her complex, troubled family is filled with lush descriptions of painfully emotional moments. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews