Coupon
The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy
by Kate Hattemer


Overview - Whip-smart dialogue and an inside look at the seedy underbelly of reality TV come together in this critically-acclaimed debut perfect for fans of Unreal , John Green, and Frank Portman.
Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students at Selwyn Arts Academy, which has been hijacked by For Art's Sake , a sleazy reality-television show.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $6.24
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer
 
 
 
Overview
Whip-smart dialogue and an inside look at the seedy underbelly of reality TV come together in this critically-acclaimed debut perfect for fans of Unreal, John Green, and Frank Portman.
Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students at Selwyn Arts Academy, which has been hijacked by For Art's Sake, a sleazy reality-television show. In the tradition of Ezra Pound, the foursome secretly writes and distributes a long poem to protest the show. They're thrilled to have started a budding rebellion.
But the forces behind the show are craftier than they seem. The web of betrayal stretches farther than Ethan could have ever imagined, and it's up to him, his friends, and a heroic gerbil named Baconnaise to save Selwyn.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385753784
  • ISBN-10: 0385753780
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2014
  • Page Count: 323
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > > Performing Arts - Television & Radio
Books > > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > > School & Education - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-06-23
  • Reviewer: Staff

In Hattemer's smart, provocative, and highly entertaining debut, a group of friends rage against the reality-TV machine that has descended on their prestigious Minnesota arts high school. To say that Hattemer perfectly spoofs competition-based reality shows isn't quite right—from the manipulative "frankenbiting" editing to the For Art's Sake judges' sendoff catchphrase to eliminated contestants ("THAT WASN'T ART!"), the details are almost too spot-on for parody. Narration comes from junior Ethan Andrezejczak, a decently talented visual artist whose devotion to a hamster named Baconnaise, chaotically loving relationship with his triplet younger sisters, and appreciation for literary forms and devices add depth and humor to a story that's already full of meaty material as it explores the creation and corruption of art. As Ethan and his quick-witted friends use poetry to campaign against For Art's Sake (and some breaking and entering to investigate whether the show is on the up and up), readers are treated to a sharply funny account of how people can fall short (and come through), and how art can make a difference. Ages 12–up. Agent: Uwe Stender, TriadaUS Literary Agency. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews