We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions (American Land Edition)
by Bruce Springsteen

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions (American Land Edition) by Bruce Springsteen

Track Listing

1 Old Dan Tucker
2 Jesse James
3 Mrs. McGrath
4 O Mary Don't You Weep
5 John Henry
6 Erie Canal
7 Jacob's Ladder
8 My Oklahoma Home
9 Eyes on the Prize
10 Shenandoah
11 Pay Me My Money Down
12 We Shall Overcome
13 Froggie Went a Courtin'
14 Buffalo Gals - (bonus track)
15 How Can I Keep from Singing - (bonus track)
16 How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live - (bonus track)
17 Bring 'Em Home - (bonus track)
18 American Land - (bonus track)

Genre: Country
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: October 2006
  • Label: Columbia (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Bruce Springsteen
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.57) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith his first-ever album of songs written by other people, it feels like he's turned to the music of our shared past to find a moral compass for a nation that's gone off the rails."

Rolling Stone (p.106) - Ranked #29 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 50 Albums Of 2006" -- "These big-band treatments combine Dixieland brass, cantina accordions and barn-dance fiddles..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.134) - "Enlivened by flailing banjos, tub-thumping horns, and hopped up accordions....[He] isn't afraid to mix in some merriment with the message." -- Grade: A-

Q (p.112) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's good to hear Springsteen with the pressure off, tapping deep into the bedrock of American music and singing and playing for the sheer joy of it."

Q (p.125) - Ranked #16 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006" -- "[I]t proved to be a rip-roaring, ramshackle masterstroke."

No Depression (p.123) - "[T]he] album deftly balances such deeply spiritual forays with a lot of upbeat material....Bringing a deep personal connection to some of the most quintessentially American songs ever written."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It takes easily five seconds to discover this is a Springsteen as you've never heard him before....A big band of little-knowns tumbles and jumbles diverse folk idioms all around him..."

Customer Reviews