We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank
by Modest Mouse

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank by Modest Mouse

Track Listing

1 March into the Sea
2 Dashboard
3 Fire It Up
4 Florida
5 Parting of the Sensory
6 Missed the Boat
7 We've Got Everything
8 Fly Trapped in a Jar
9 Education
10 Little Motel
11 Steam Engenius
12 Spitting Venom
13 People as Places as People
14 Invisible

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: March 2007
  • Label: Epic
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Dennis Herring; Dennis Herring
  • Engineer: Clay Jones; Joe Zook; Kyle 'Slick' Johnson; Tom Queyja; Reto Peter; Clay Jones; Joe Zook
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.78) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's louder and somewhat less twisty than the group's indie output..."

Spin (p.85) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Brock's pop instincts have never been more refined....It's a road-trip sing-along album not for vacationers, but for escapees."

Entertainment Weekly (p.58) - "Brock has never sounded more charismatic, or chameleonlike, as he alternately croons, spits, and bronchially howls through lyrics..." -- Grade: A-

Q (p.128) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Marr dazzles throughout....Modest Mouse show no signs of sinking into the quagmire of mainstream orthodoxy...A fantastic voyage."

Alternative Press (p.145) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Brock and his bandmates have filled the album with the kind of guitar-heavy dirges and poignant ballads that long ago turned them into blue-collar indie-rock gods."

Q (Magazine) (p.87) - Ranked #11 in Q's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2007" -- "[L]oosely based around a nautical theme, it conjures up visions of a grunge Talking Heads..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Isaac Brock's vocal histrionics and Marr's itchy guitar scrawl provide a backdrop for cryptic, neurotic lyrical intrigue, but they're also capable of a cute romantic ballad..."

Customer Reviews