Wrecking Ball
by Emmylou Harris

  • $28.98
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 23.18
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Wrecking Ball by Emmylou Harris

Track Listing

1 Where Will I Be
2 Goodbye
3 All My Tears
4 Wrecking Ball
5 Goin' Back to Harlan
6 Deeper Well
7 Every Grain of Sand
8 Sweet Old World
9 May This Be Love
10 Orphan Girl
11 Blackhawk
12 Waltz Across Texas Tonight
1 Still Water
2 Where Will I Be
3 All My Tears
4 How Will I Ever Be Simple Again
5 Deeper Well
6 Stranger Song, The
7 Sweet Old World
8 Gold
9 Blackhawk
10 May This Be Love
11 Goin' Back to Harlan
12 Where Will I Be
13 Deeper Well
1 Building the Wrecking Ball [Making of the Album Documentary] [DVD]

Featured Artists: Neil Young and Daniel Lanois and Steve Earle and Lucinda Williams and Larry Mullen Jr. and Kate & Anna McGarrigle

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Folk Music
  • Release Date: April 2014
  • Label: Nonesuch (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Daniel Lanois
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (11/16/95, p.110) - 3.5 Stars - Good - "...Harris floats in some netherland amid country, rock and folk. Her latest album turns this stylistic ambiguity into a stunning virtue....a wrenching collection of songs that merges popular and historical styles like a 1990s rethink of the Band..."

Entertainment Weekly (9/26/95, p.60) - "...the biggest stretch of her career....the album plucks Harris from the safe ground of pristine country ballads and acoustic rave-ups and plops her squarely in the middle of idiosyncratic, New Age-y pop rock..." - Rating: A-

Q (2/96, p.64) - Included in Q's 50 Best Albums of 1995 - "...a timely reminder of just how fabulous a singer Emmylou Harris is..."

Musician (11/95, p.87) - "...nothing in Harris' catalog prepares a listener for the leap she takes....[she] nudges her vocals gingerly into places as if completing a complex jigsaw puzzle....There are moments...that approximate...fleeting epiphany....WRECKING BALL isn't `country music,' not by a long shot..."

Village Voice (2/20/96) - Ranked #12 in Village Voice's 1995 Pazz & Jop Critics' Poll.

Mojo (Publisher) (12/00, p.41) - "...She steps off the edge into heavy rhythm tracks and instruments deployed as atmospheric noise while attention focuses on her voice - reaching low, straining high, letting elegance take care of itself..."

New York Times (Publisher) (1/6/96, p.C16) - Included on Stephen Holden's list of the Top 10 Albums of `95 - "...eerie, atmospheric collaboration....a queen of country steps down from her pedestal to sing...with a frayed urgency..."

Paste (magazine) - "It was, simply, a watershed. Emmylou Harris, with her song sense, acute rhythm guitar playing and set-on-stun gift as a vocal gut-leveler, was suddenly free to find the essence of her gift."

Customer Reviews