Coupon
The Wanderings of Odysseus : The Story of the Odyssey
by Rosemary Sutcliff


Overview - For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey , comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece .  Read more...

 
Mass Market Paperback
  • Retail Price: $6.99
  • $5.59
    (Save 20%)
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 5.03

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 25 copies from $3.79
 
 
 

More About The Wanderings of Odysseus by Rosemary Sutcliff
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece.
The long siege is over, and Troy lies in ashes. The black ships of the Greek war-host set sail for home. But for heroic King Odysseus of Ithaca, the return voyage holds hazards far greater than any he faced during the Trojan War. Forced by ill winds into unknown seas, Odysseus and his crew must contend with ever-stranger perils: the flesh-eating Cyclops, Circe with her deadly enchantments, the soul-chilling Land of the Dead.
Woven through with a spectacular cast of men, magicians, and monsters, Odysseus' harrowing journey home to his family and kingdom tests the limits of his strength, and the power of his will.

" Sutcliff] retells Homer's Odyssey with thrilling drama...The story of the hero's long years of wandering...has the mythic power of everyone's search for home... and she] fuses epic grandeur with a direct simplicity that will bring the universal story home."-Booklist
"An intimate portrait of a man...Readers will enjoy this classic adventure."-SLJ
"Rosemary Sutcliff has done a great service...by warmly and carefully abridging two classics that many people find difficult to tackle in their original form. Not only has she broken the long tales into tolerable and interesting chapters, she has smoothed out the language while keeping true to all of the original drama and excitement."-Parents Express

From the Hardcover edition."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553494822
  • ISBN-10: 0553494821
  • Publisher: Laurel Leaf Library
  • Publish Date: December 2005
  • Page Count: 134
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Legends, Myths, & Fables - Greek & Roman

 
BAM Customer Reviews