Coupon
Warcross
by Marie Lu


Overview - From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu--when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn't just a game--it's a way of life.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $13.29
    (Save 30%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $9.47
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Warcross by Marie Lu
 
 
 
Overview
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu--when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn't just a game--it's a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down Warcross players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty-hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. To make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships--only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she's going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game's creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year's tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika's whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she's only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399547966
  • ISBN-10: 0399547967
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: September 2017
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.9 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Action & Adventure - General
Books > > Computers & Digital Media
Books > > Romance - General

 
BookPage Reviews

A bounty hunt in virtual reality

Things are not going well for Emika Chen. A bounty hunter in an obsessively digital world, Emika is days away from being evicted from her run-down apartment with no hope of making enough money. Desperate, she decides to hack into Warcross, the immersive virtual reality game that has overtaken the world. Emika’s hack works, to a point. Unfortunately, during the heist, she also glitches into the International Warcross Championship in front of billions of viewers. Emika is convinced she’s going to spend the rest of her life in jail, but then she receives a call from the mysterious (and ridiculously wealthy) creator of Warcross, Hideo Tanaka. He offers Emika a chance to erase her debts and snag the biggest bounty of her life by chasing down a security threat to Warcross. But what Emika uncovers goes beyond the security of an online game.

Taking obvious cues from Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One and postmodern tech thrillers, Marie Lu presents an exciting, immersive world with interesting and developed characters the reader will care about. While definitely a can’t-miss for fans of Lu’s Young Elites series, Warcross offers something for readers across all genres.

 

This article was originally published in the September 2017 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews