Coupon
Why We Write about Ourselves : Twenty Memoirists on Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) in the Name of Literature
by Meredith Maran


Overview -

In the voices of twenty landmark memoirists--including New York Times bestselling authors Cheryl Strayed, Sue Monk Kidd, and Pat Conroy--a definitive text on the craft of autobiographical writing, indispensable for amateur and professional writers alike.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 12.80
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $3.85
 
 
 

More About Why We Write about Ourselves by Meredith Maran
 
 
 
Overview

In the voices of twenty landmark memoirists--including New York Times bestselling authors Cheryl Strayed, Sue Monk Kidd, and Pat Conroy--a definitive text on the craft of autobiographical writing, indispensable for amateur and professional writers alike.

For readers of Mary Karr's The Art of Memoir and Judith Barrington's Writing the Memoir, this follow-up to editor Meredith Maran's acclaimed writers' handbook, Why We Write, offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice for bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists.

Curated and edited by Maran, herself an acclaimed author and book critic, these memoirists share the lessons they've learned through years of honing their craft. They reveal what drives them to tell their personal stories and examine the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these outstanding authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most--and least--about writing about themselves.

"It's possible that Why We Write About Ourselves is the first compilation of memoirists at the top of their game seriously and thoughtfully considering the genre."
- LA Times


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780142181973
  • ISBN-10: 0142181978
  • Publisher: Plume Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 272
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.3 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Language Arts & Disciplines > Composition & Creative Writing - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews