Flash Sale
You Were Here
by Cori Mccarthy


Overview -

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.17
    (Save 32%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
eBook
Retail Price: $1.99
$1.44

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    You Were Here (Paperback)
    Published: 2017-01-01
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
    $10.99
     
     
 
 

More About You Were Here by Cori Mccarthy
 
 
 
Overview

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.

"You Were Hereis wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us-and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."-Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines

"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it " Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781492617044
  • ISBN-10: 1492617040
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
  • Publish Date: March 2016
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Emotions & Feelings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Death & Dying
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-02-22
  • Reviewer: Staff

McCarthy (Breaking Sky) delivers a skillful blend of storytelling, emotion, and adrenaline-fueled daring, spun through with romances new and old. Jaycee has accomplished something her daredevil older brother, Jake, never did—she lived past graduation. Clinging to his memory, she is determined to follow in his urban explorer footsteps, no matter the risk. She’s joined by four friends, all revisiting Jake’s old haunts for their own reasons, driven by their own demons. McCarthy rotates among the characters, mixing visual and verbal narratives. Selective mute Mik’s chapters are told through comics sequences, while Bishop’s brief entries are sketches and graffiti; Natalie contributes a logical, slightly obsessive viewpoint while her party-guy boyfriend, Zach, is immature yet insightful. What follows over several months forces these young adults to take a hard look at their past, present, and future through the lens of urban exploration and its inherent dangers. McCarthy neither shies from nor glamorizes difficult topics like sexual assault, domestic abuse, and suicide, and each character is complexly developed, ensuring relatability for a wide audience. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sarah Davies, Greenhouse Literary. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews