Holiday Savings at BAM!
 
(2)
 
What I Thought Was True
by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Overview - The eagerly anticipated follow-up to "My Life Next Door" is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.
Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $11.33
    (Save 37%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 42 copies from $7.30
 
 
 
 

More About What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
 
 
 
Overview
The eagerly anticipated follow-up to "My Life Next Door" is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.
Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past--or the island--Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true--about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself--with what really is.
Huntley Fitzpatrick delivers another enticing summer read full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions, and a romance that will make every reader swoon.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803739093
  • ISBN-10: 0803739095
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: April 2014
  • Page Count: 409
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-01-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

Fitzpatrick’s thoughtful and genuine love story shows the clash between classes in a New England beach community that’s home to two types of people: those who live in mansions, and those who serve them. After junior year, Gwen, whose mother is a house cleaner, has done more “serving” than she’d like to admit, earning her a less-than-pristine reputation among the members of the boys’ swim team, including rich Cass, whom Gwen secretly admires. After a humiliating run-in with him at a party, it’s hard for Gwen to believe that he wants more from her than a quick fling, but over the course of the summer, he gradually wins her trust and her heart as their paths cross on the island. Meanwhile others—Gwen’s hardworking father, her ambitious cousin and his girlfriend, and her summer employer—shock and disappoint Gwen, further upending her life. Tracing Cass’s coming of age as she faces some harsh realities, Fitzpatrick (My Life Next Door) once again evokes the dizzying heights of adolescent passion while remaining down-to-earth. Ages 14–up. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Apr.)

 
BookPage Reviews

The summer she never expected

Set on the beaches of a fictional island located off the coast of Connecticut, What I Thought Was True is the story of a young woman learning firsthand of the mystifying intricacies of love, lust, luxury and loyalty—and how each can change drastically for her friends, her family and herself.

High school junior Gwen Castle is the half-Portuguese daughter of a divorced housecleaner and an off-brand fast-food restaurant owner. She lives in a cramped house on Shell Island with nearly her entire family, all of whom work multiple jobs to help pay the bills. Gwen’s life couldn’t differ more from that of Cassidy Somers, an attractive, wealthy boy and her own personal Kryptonite. Cassidy is the picture of wealth and class—just another one of the stereotypical, WASP-y “summer people” who escape to Gwen’s island to enjoy her beaches for the warmer months. But when he takes a summer job as a lawn boy—work typically reserved for the regulars of the island—Gwen begins to think that there could be more to Cassidy than his family’s money and prestige, and that their random hookup from last year just might have something more hidden within it than simple carnal release.

Huntley Fitzpatrick worked as an editor for Harlequin publishing for many years before penning her first novel, My Life Next Door, which was a RITA Award finalist and a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults title. What I Thought Was True, her second novel, continues on the same path, tempering young love and attraction with the realities of human existence—something writers too often forget when crafting their idyllic stories of young love. It also reminds us how the facets of class and money can alter, sometimes unfairly, our perceptions of people, including ourselves.

 

Justin Barisich is a freelancer, satirist, poet and performer living in Atlanta. More of his writing can be found at littlewritingman.com.

This article was originally published in the May 2014 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION