Coupon
What's Broken Between Us
by Alexis Bass


Overview -

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories , comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider's The Beginning of Everything .

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart's brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About What's Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass
 
 
 
Overview

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider's The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart's brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend. Today, he's coming home from prison.

Amanda's been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother's recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he's a monster. Still, she loves him. It's her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again--whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she'll let his choice destroy hers.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062275356
  • ISBN-10: 0062275356
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: December 2015
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Romance - General
Books > > Social Themes - Dating & Sex
Books > > Girls & Women

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-09-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

In a story about sorrow, regret, and love, Bass (Love and Other Theories) traces high-school senior Amandas struggles during the aftermath of tragedy. On the night Amandas older brother, Jonathan, graduated from high school, he was responsible for a drunk-driving accident that left a friend dead and his girlfriend, Sutton, nearly paralyzed. While Jonathan spent a year in jail, Amanda brooded that she should have done more to prevent him from getting behind the wheel. After Jonathan is released, community members complain that his sentence was too light, and Amanda feels guiltier than ever. Told from Amandas point of view, this novel offers a frank, thought-provoking account of one teens response to an unbearable, irrevocable situation. The relationship between Amanda and Suttons brother (whom she has been avoiding) unexpectedly deepens into romance, making her emotions all the more complicated. Meanwhile, Jonathans reconnection with Sutton may be more detrimental than therapeutic. Rather than placing judgments, Bass focuses on her characters emotional scars and strained relationships as they quietly grieve lost life and innocence. Ages 14up. Agent: Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Dec.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews