Coupon
While the City Slept : A Love Lost to Violence and a Wake-Up Call for Mental Health Care in America
by Eli Sanders


Overview - "Binged Making a Murderer ? Try . . . this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime." -- Entertainment Weekly

Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call for mental health care in America

On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 29 copies from $4.50
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About While the City Slept by Eli Sanders
 
 
 
Overview
"Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime." --Entertainment Weekly

Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call for mental health care in America

On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love--Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other--and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs.

In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country--as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu's dangerous slide toward violence--observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one--While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143109518
  • ISBN-10: 0143109510
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.62 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Psychology > Mental Health
Books > True Crime > Murder - General
Books > Social Science > Criminology

 
BAM Customer Reviews