Coupon
The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks and Julia Whelan and Sarah Pekkanen


Overview -

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O.  Read more...


 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • Retail Price: $39.99
  • $32.39
    (Save 19%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $20.76
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks; Julia Whelan; Sarah Pekkanen
 
 
 
Overview

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." -- The Washington Post

From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Listen for the truth between the lies.

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you'll find in The Wife Between Us...All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan's tautly paced performance." -- BookPage

"A clever thriller with masterful twists." - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." - Library Journal

"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." -Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read " -Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781427293039
  • ISBN-10: 1427293031
  • Publisher: MacMillan Audio
  • Publish Date: January 2018
  • Dimensions: 5.9 x 5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Women
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Psychological

 
BookPage Reviews

Audio: The ex factor

Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you’ll find in The Wife Between Us. Written by duo Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen and set in the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, the story at first seems to involve a classic love triangle. We have Vanessa, the first wife, who appears to be stalking Nellie, a lovely, young, unsophisticated preschool teacher. Nellie has fallen head over heels in love with Vanessa’s ex-husband, 30-something Richard—a handsome, super-successful hedge fund manager. Is Richard really the quintessential Prince Charming of every girl’s dreams? Has the divorce unhinged Vanessa and driven her to look for revenge? Or might Vanessa be trying to save Nellie from falling into Richard’s not-so-princelike clutches? All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan’s tautly paced performance.

ANALYZING GOD’S HUMANITY
The very title of Reza Aslan’s latest book, God: A Human History (Random House Audio, 5.5 hours), lets you know that it takes on the challenge of a serious and academic subject loaded with emotional minefields. Aslan has made the study of religion his life’s work. Though his scholarship is thorough and wide-ranging—covering anthropology, philosophy, cognitive theory, biblical studies and more—he writes and narrates his work with verve and personal commitment that make his ideas accessible and compelling. Going back to prehistory, Aslan looks at the earliest depictions of a deity and follows the evolution of religion. He presents a fascinating explanation for why we humans have fashioned God in our own image. In fact, he thinks this “compulsion” is hardwired in our brains. Aslan does not attempt to prove the existence or nonexistence of God, but he does believe that foisting the human condition on the divine brings consequences that keep us from “a more mature, more peaceful, more primal form of spirituality.” It’s guaranteed to make you think.

TOP PICK IN AUDIO
Spy novel aficionados are likely familiar with the CIA, MI6, Soviet and post-Soviet spies, and other parts of the worldwide intelligence community. But what do we know about the inner workings of China’s espionage establishment? Listen to David Ignatius’ The Quantum Spy, deftly narrated by Edoardo Ballerini, and you’ll get a good handle on it as the action moves from D.C. and Seattle to Singapore and Beijing. Moreover, you’ll be clued into the United States and China’s ongoing race to be the first to build an incomprehensibly fast and powerful quantum computer. Ignatius’ engaging thriller follows the CIA’s efforts to catch a longtime mole while also trying to ward off Chinese attempts to steal American cyber secrets and foil a plan to turn an Iraq War-hardened, Chinese-American veteran into a double agent. Ignatius cleverly reveals the clandestine world of the CIA and offers insight into current political realities in the world’s most populous nation.

 

This article was originally published in the January 2018 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews