Coupon
Wishing Day
by Lauren Myracle


Overview -

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Wishing Day by Lauren Myracle
 
 
 
Overview

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.

On the third night of the third month after a girl's thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.

The first wish is an impossible wish.

The second is a wish she can make come true herself.

And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.

Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she's not sure she believes in it. She's full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed.

So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062342065
  • ISBN-10: 0062342061
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds

Series: Wishing Day #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Multigenerational
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Girls & Women

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-02-15
  • Reviewer: Staff

When budding writer Natasha turns 13 and makes three wishes under a willow tree, she feels a hint of magic in the air. Since her mother’s disappearance eight years ago, Natasha has been defined by her helpfulness, attending to her younger sisters, their forgetful father, and two aunts. After wishing for her first kiss, her mother to be alive, and to be “somebody’s favorite,” Natasha finds mysterious notes of encouragement around town and receives curious riddles from an eccentric Bird Lady concerning her mother. Following the riddles, Natasha realizes that her mother’s disappearance is more complicated than she first believed. Concentrating on the idea that “beneath the ordinary world lies a hidden world,” Myracle (the Internet Girls series) infuses enchantment into a heartwarming and well-written tale of sisters navigating a world without their mother. Though there are more questions than answers by the novel’s end (the book is first in a planned trilogy), Myracle leaves readers with the powerful idea that wishing is more about appreciating what one already has than about getting what one wants. Ages 8–12. Agent: Barry Goldblatt, Barry Goldblatt Literary. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews