Coupon
Woman in the Shadows
by Jane Thynne


Overview - Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence and discovering a deadly secret.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • Members Take 10% Off! Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Woman in the Shadows by Jane Thynne
 
 
 
Overview
Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence and discovering a deadly secret.

Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine s star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman s life, and its abrupt end, that draws her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist s model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. But Anna left that all behind when she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler s notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna s death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth for the Gestapo is one step behind.
Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden

Praise for Jane Thynne s first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets

A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine. Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers
A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives. Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress
An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction. Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series
An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries

Find your next book club pick, read special features, and more. Join the Random House Reader s Circle."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553394405
  • ISBN-10: 0553394401
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 480

Series: Clara Vine #1

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical
Books > Fiction > Sagas

 
BAM Customer Reviews