Coupon
Worm Loves Worm
by J. J. Austrian and Mike Curato


Overview -

Perfect for fans of And Tango Makes Three and The Sissy Duckling , this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City , Mike Curato.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About Worm Loves Worm by J. J. Austrian; Mike Curato
 
 
 
Overview

Perfect for fans of And Tango Makes Three and The Sissy Duckling, this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City, Mike Curato.

You are cordially invited to celebrate the wedding of a worm . . . and a worm.

When a worm meets a special worm and they fall in love, you know what happens next: They get married But their friends want to know--who will wear the dress? And who will wear the tux?

The answer is: It doesn't matter. Because Worm loves worm.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062386335
  • ISBN-10: 0062386336
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Insects, Spiders, etc.
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Marriage & Divorce
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Holidays & Celebrations - Valentine's Day

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-10-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

How do you explain a revolution to a young audience? This book is a terrific start. Worm and Worm are in love and want to get married. All of their invertebrate friends are good with that, as long as the couple has a traditional wedding with all the trimmings: a cake, attendants, dancing, rings, and an officiant (a suitably officious cricket). The worms are slightly dazed but grateful for their friends enthusiasm, and they even realize that, lacking fingers, they can wear the rings as belts. Then their friends make one more demand: there can only be one bride and one groom: thats how its always been done. And thats when the worms show they have a spine. We can be both, they insist, mixing and matching veils, tuxes, dresses, and top hats. Well just change how its done. Debut author Austrian proves that its possible to be silly and incisive at the same time, while Curato (the Little Elliot books) works in a stripped-down style that subtly reinforces the all you need is love message. Ages 48. Illustrators agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews