Coupon
Spiral : A Novel
by Paul McEuen


Overview - In this riveting debut thriller a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. "Spiral" is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $25.00
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 42 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Spiral by Paul McEuen
 
 
 
Overview
In this riveting debut thriller a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. "Spiral" is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston.
When Nobel laureate Liam Connor is found dead at the bottom of one of Ithaca, New York s famous gorges, his research collaborator, Cornell professor of nanoscience Jake Sterling, refuses to believe it was suicide. Why would one of the world s most eminent biologists, a eighty-six-year old man in good health who survived some of the darkest days of the Second World War, have chosen to throw himself off a bridge? And who was the mysterious woman caught on camera at the scene? Soon it becomes clear that a cache of supersophisticated nanorobots each the size of a spider has disappeared from the dead man s laboratory.
Stunned by grief, Jake, Liam s granddaughter, Maggie, and Maggie s nine-year-old son, Dylan, try to put the pieces together. They uncover ingeniously coded messages Liam left behind pointing toward a devastating secret he gleaned off the shores of war-ravaged Japan and carried for more than sixty years.
What begins as a quest for answers soon leads to a horrifying series of revelations at the crossroads of biological warfare and nanoscience. At this dangerous intersection, a skilled and sadistic assassin, an infamous Japanese war criminal, and a ruthless U.S. government official are all players in a harrowing game of power, treachery, and intrigue a game whose winner will hold the world s fate literally in the palm of his hand."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385342117
  • ISBN-10: 038534211X
  • Publisher: Dial Pr
  • Publish Date: March 2011
  • Page Count: 310
  • Dimensions: 1.25 x 6.75 x 10 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Suspense

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-01-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

Set in and around the city of Ithaca, N.Y., Cornell physics professor McEuen's fiction debut successfully mixes science and suspense. When Liam Connor—an 86-year-old Cornell emeritus professor of biology, a Nobel Prize winner, and pioneer in the field of nanoscience—inexplicably jumps to his death off a bridge into one of Ithaca's gorges, the entire community is stunned, especially Connor's granddaughter, Maggie, and his academic confidant, professor Jake Sterling. But when micro-robots—silicon and metal constructs that Connor helped create—are found in his stomach, Maggie and Jake realize that he didn't commit suicide: he was tortured before being murdered. As they race to unravel cryptic messages Connor left behind, his ruthless killer plots to unleash an ingenious biological "doomsday weapon" with origins all the way back to WWII Japan. While the cutting-edge science and apocalyptic backdrop power the narrative, it's the cast of endearing characters and their interpersonal relationships and struggles that make this emotionally intense and thought-provoking novel so readable. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews