Coupon
The Big Sheep
by Robert Kroese


Overview -

Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA, the Disincorporated Zone, was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $25.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 20.79

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Big Sheep by Robert Kroese
 
 
 
Overview

Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA, the Disincorporated Zone, was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city. Navigating the boundaries between DZ and LA proper is a tricky task, and there's no one better suited than eccentric private investigator Erasmus Keane. When a valuable genetically altered sheep mysteriously goes missing from Esper Corporation's labs, Keane is the one they call.

But while the erratic Keane and his more grounded partner, Blake Fowler, are on the trail of the lost sheep, they land an even bigger case. Beautiful television star Priya Mistry suspects that someone is trying to kill her - and she wants Keane to find out who. When Priya vanishes and then reappears with no memory of having hired them, Keane and Fowler realize something very strange is going on. As they unravel the threads of the mystery, it soon becomes clear that the two cases are connected - and both point to a sinister conspiracy involving the most powerful people in the city. Saving Priya and the sheep will take all of Keane's wits and Fowler's skills, but in the end, they may discover that some secrets are better left hidden.

Kroese's" The Big Sheep" is perfect for fans of Philip Dick's "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep," Terry Pratchett's "Guards Guards , "and Scalzi's "Old Man's War."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250088444
  • ISBN-10: 1250088445
  • Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 320


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Science Fiction - General
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Private Investigators

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-05-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

Kroese (Disenchanted) demonstrates his creative imaginative worldbuilding in this sci-fi mystery series debut set in 2039 Los Angeles. The brilliant lead is Erasmus Keane, who prefers being called a “phenomenological inquisitor” rather than a private investigator. Aided by sidekick Blake Fowler, Keane is looking into the disappearance of a sheep named Mary, who had been genetically modified to host organs that could be transplanted into humans. The challenges of finding her are heightened when the duo are asked for help by Priya Mistry, a TV megastar, who fears for her life after getting a note warning her that someone is out to kill her. Priya is also freaked out by having appeared in a face cream commercial that she insists she never made. There are some amusing one-liners and Kroese’s future version of Chandler’s mean streets holds potential, but the promising opening isn’t sustained for very long. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews