(4)
 
The Christmas List
by Richard Paul Evans

Overview - A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of "The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift," and "Finding Noel." The "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Christmas Box "and The Walk" "series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $19.99
  • $16.99
    (Save 15%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 169 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Christmas List by Richard Paul Evans
 
 
 
Overview
A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of "The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift," and "Finding Noel." The "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Christmas Box "and The Walk" "series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.
Dear Reader,
When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.
What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.
As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.
Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's "A Christmas Carol." I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.
Merry Christmas

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781439150009
  • ISBN-10: 1439150001
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: October 2009
  • Page Count: 368


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > General

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION