Coupon
The Test
by Patricia Gussin


Overview - Renowned philanthropist and billionaire Paul Parnell had reached the pinnacle of monetary success, but not without cost. Had he put too much emphasis on work and spent too little time with his family?Determined to leave something far more valuable than money to his six children, Paul instructs his lawyers to create an unusual last will and testament.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $25.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About The Test by Patricia Gussin
 
 
 
Overview
Renowned philanthropist and billionaire Paul Parnell had reached the pinnacle of monetary success, but not without cost. Had he put too much emphasis on work and spent too little time with his family?Determined to leave something far more valuable than money to his six children, Paul instructs his lawyers to create an unusual last will and testament. This unorthodox will, which stipulates that the lion's share of Paul's two billion dollar estate be given to the heirs who pass the test, was Paul's last hope of creating an enduring legacy by inspiring his children to give back to society and embrace a code of moral values.The six children-Rory, Frank, Dan, Monica, Carla and Ashley-have only one year to make a difference. But what a difference one year will make.Before these six very different siblings can complete the test, they'll be forced to face their personal demons and the incredibly evil influence that could claim one of their own.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781933515199
  • ISBN-10: 1933515198
  • Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
  • Publish Date: October 2009
  • Page Count: 265
  • Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.2 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page 42.
  • Review Date: 2009-08-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

Fans of TV's Dynasty and Sidney Sheldon will like Gussin's stand-alone suspense novel, in which the late Paul Parnell, a Philadelphia philanthropist, leaves a will that stipulates his six children must each pass a family values test to inherit a share of his huge estate. When Paul's executor reveals the terms of the yearlong test, Paul's U.S. senator son, Frank, and his wife, Meredith, are angry because they were expecting funds for Frank's presidential campaign. The would-be heirs are also disturbed to learn that Paul had a daughter out of wedlock, superstar Monica Monroe, who could also inherit. Meanwhile, psychiatrist Conrad Welton, a greedy psycho, schemes to marry Ashley, one of Paul's legitimate daughters. Various tragedies claim the lives of more than one heir. When, on the morning of 9/11, pregnant Ashley seeks advice about her upcoming marriage to Conrad from a lawyer with offices in the World Trade Center, she disappears. Is she dead or alive? The plot takes a number of terrifying twists before Gussin (Shadow of Death) reveals the answer. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews