menu

Kingdom of Souls
by Rena Barron




Overview -

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother's dark schemes--even if the price is her life.

Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won't see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can't-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.

"Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest."--New York Times bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family's legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom's most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.

But when the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she'll have to buy it--by trading away years of her own life.

Arrah's borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme... before the fight costs more than she can afford.

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron's captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.

"Masterful."--SLJ (starred review)

--Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author of Love, Hate & Other Filters and Internment

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $16.65
    (Save 12%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $11.49
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

 
 
 

Overview

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother's dark schemes--even if the price is her life.

Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won't see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can't-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.

"Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest."--New York Times bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family's legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom's most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.

But when the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she'll have to buy it--by trading away years of her own life.

Arrah's borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme... before the fight costs more than she can afford.

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron's captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.

"Masterful."--SLJ (starred review)

--Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author of Love, Hate & Other Filters and Internment

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062870957
  • ISBN-10: 0062870955
  • Publisher: Harperteen
  • Publish Date: September 2019
  • Page Count: 496
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.4 x 1.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds

Series: Kingdom of Souls

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews