menu

The Eighth Girl
by Maxine Mei-Fung Chung




Overview -

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub

An unsettling, seductive psychological thriller about a young woman with multiple personalities, perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh

An electrifying, thought-provoking, and unflinching novel. --Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

"An exceptional debut from a talented author." --Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa W , a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is controlled by a series of alternate personalities.

When Alexa's friend Ella gets a job at a high-end gentlemen's club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa's world becomes intimately entangled with Ella's, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret as she follows Ella into London's cruel underbelly. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of living in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician's expertise, Chung's psychological debut deftly explores identity, innocence, and the fracturing weight that young women are forced to carry, causing us to ask: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or to self-destruction?

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $8.95
 
 
 
 

More About The Eighth Girl by Maxine Mei-Fung Chung

 
 
 

Overview

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub

An unsettling, seductive psychological thriller about a young woman with multiple personalities, perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh

An electrifying, thought-provoking, and unflinching novel. --Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

"An exceptional debut from a talented author." --Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa W , a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is controlled by a series of alternate personalities.

When Alexa's friend Ella gets a job at a high-end gentlemen's club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa's world becomes intimately entangled with Ella's, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret as she follows Ella into London's cruel underbelly. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of living in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician's expertise, Chung's psychological debut deftly explores identity, innocence, and the fracturing weight that young women are forced to carry, causing us to ask: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or to self-destruction?


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062931122
  • ISBN-10: 0062931121
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: March 2020
  • Page Count: 480
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.2 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews