The Gifted School
by Bruce Holsinger


Overview -
A smart, juicy, compulsively readable novel of parental ambition, social pressure, and privilege. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng, Tom Perrotta, Nick Hornby, and Liane Moriarty.

Good schools, stately houses, safe neighborhoods, all set against a beautiful landscape. What else could a family want? It was with high hopes for the future that four young couples separately chose this Colorado town as the place to raise their children over a decade ago. Finding each other as friends further buoyed them over the ensuing years, as they juggled the stresses of parenthood, careers, and marriage. Even now, as the kids head for middle school, their individual interests and abilities becoming more and more distinct, the group of families has remained tight. But when an exclusive new school is introduced into the mix - an elite new standard to meet - it represents, at long last, one pressure too many.

Gradually, throughout the community, cracks begin to form, and spread. As children are pitted against each other for coveted spots in the school, some parents shock themselves with the lengths they are secretly willing to go in the pursuit of prestige and recognition. Soon, long-buried resentments arise between friends and spouses alike, as ever more toxic instincts keep emerging. And the most shattering secret of all still lies waiting to be exposed.

The Gifted School is a smart, knowing, wickedly entertaining novel that at once provokes, skewers, and forgives, loves and understands its keenly observed characters. A riveting tale of parenting and privilege, custom-made for our culture.

  Read Full Product Description
 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
> Check In-Store Availability
search store by zipcode
In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $13.81
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Gifted School by Bruce Holsinger
 
 
 
Overview

A smart, juicy, compulsively readable novel of parental ambition, social pressure, and privilege. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng, Tom Perrotta, Nick Hornby, and Liane Moriarty.

Good schools, stately houses, safe neighborhoods, all set against a beautiful landscape. What else could a family want? It was with high hopes for the future that four young couples separately chose this Colorado town as the place to raise their children over a decade ago. Finding each other as friends further buoyed them over the ensuing years, as they juggled the stresses of parenthood, careers, and marriage. Even now, as the kids head for middle school, their individual interests and abilities becoming more and more distinct, the group of families has remained tight. But when an exclusive new school is introduced into the mix - an elite new standard to meet - it represents, at long last, one pressure too many.

Gradually, throughout the community, cracks begin to form, and spread. As children are pitted against each other for coveted spots in the school, some parents shock themselves with the lengths they are secretly willing to go in the pursuit of prestige and recognition. Soon, long-buried resentments arise between friends and spouses alike, as ever more toxic instincts keep emerging. And the most shattering secret of all still lies waiting to be exposed.

The Gifted School is a smart, knowing, wickedly entertaining novel that at once provokes, skewers, and forgives, loves and understands its keenly observed characters. A riveting tale of parenting and privilege, custom-made for our culture.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780525534969
  • ISBN-10: 0525534962
  • Publisher: Riverhead Books
  • Publish Date: July 2019
  • Page Count: 464
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 1.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Family Life - General
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
BookPage Reviews

The Gifted School

Bruce Holsinger is an English professor at the University of Virginia, a medievalist whose first two novels were set in 14th--century London. With his new novel, Holsinger has moved forward seven centuries and across an ocean. The Gifted School is a contemporary story about high-stakes parenting, set in an affluent Colorado suburb.

The novel’s four moms—Rose, Azra, Samantha and Lauren—have been best friends for a decade. Together, they’ve weathered death, divorce, addiction and travel-team sports. When they learn that a charter school for gifted middle and high schoolers will open in Crystal (a fictionalized Boulder), they respond with varying degrees of enthusiasm. But before long, they’re caught up in the school’s competitive admissions process, each trying to find a hook for her kid.

Although the novel’s point of view shifts with each chapter, Holsinger has made an interesting and smart decision to offer the perspective of only one of the four moms. That’s Rose, an ambitious neurologist who’s exasperated with her husband, Gareth, an underachieving novelist. Other point-of-view characters include Beck, the soccer dad ex-husband of Azra, and Ch’ayña, an immigrant grandmother who cleans houses. We also get the perspectives of three kids: Emma Z., daughter of Samantha, the most affluent mom; Xander, an 11-year-old chess whiz on the autism spectrum; and Tessa, Xander’s troubled 16-year-old sister.

Yes, it’s a lot of characters to keep track of. But the novel’s frequent perspective shifting, interspersed with faux newspaper articles, texts, Facebook posts and video narration, keeps the story moving through the months leading up to the gifted school’s opening. As the story unfolds, we learn that most of the characters harbor secrets, not all of them having to do with parental ambition. These secrets, compounded by a devastating project undertaken by one of the kids, are revealed in the novel’s climactic final act at the school’s open house. An astute reader may predict part of the outcome, but the story still offers satisfying surprises.

Reminiscent of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, The Gifted School is a story of trouble in paradise with timely commentary on hyperparenting and the lengths to which parents will go to ensure that their kids remain “exceptional.”

 
BAM Customer Reviews