)
Middle Passage
by Charles Johnson


Overview - A Scribner Classics edition of Charles Johnson's masterpiece, winner of the National Book Award--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick ...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind" ( The New York Times Book Review ).  Read more...

 
In Stock. Allow Additional 1 Week for Shipping.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $7.00
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Middle Passage by Charles Johnson
 
 
 
Overview
A Scribner Classics edition of Charles Johnson's masterpiece, winner of the National Book Award--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review).

It is 1830. Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is desperate to escape unscrupulous bill collectors and an impending marriage to a priggish schoolteacher. He jumps aboard the first boat leaving New Orleans, the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a daring voyage of horror and self-discovery.

Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative, and philosophical novel.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501110528
  • ISBN-10: 1501110527
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publish Date: July 2015
  • Page Count: 224
  • Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.7 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > General
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Classics

 
BAM Customer Reviews