Code Name : Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy
by Larry Loftis


Overview - Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019-- Woman's Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year-- BookBub
"A nonfiction thriller."-- Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken , The Nightingale , and Code Girls Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $27.00
  • $24.03
    (Save 11%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 19.22
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 11 copies from $12.86
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Code Name by Larry Loftis
 
 
 
Overview
Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019--Woman's Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year--BookBub
"A nonfiction thriller."--Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love--of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade).

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501198656
  • ISBN-10: 1501198653
  • Publisher: Gallery Books
  • Publish Date: January 2019
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 9.2 x 6 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Historical
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Women
Books > History > Military - World War II

 
BAM Customer Reviews