menu

The Last Song of Dusk
by Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi




Overview -
Now available again, the best-selling and award winning novel, called "A lush, wildly imaginative fairy tale" (San Francisco Chronicle).

For readers of The White Tiger and The God of Small Things, a dazzling, exuberant, wickedly funny, and moving novel set in post-colonial India that tells tender and enthralling tale of sex, karma, colonialism and, most of all, love in its many guises.

Anuradha Patwardhan is a young woman of such legendary beauty the peacocks line up to bid her farewell when she leaves her family home to meet her future husband. As part of her dowry, she carries with her a gift for singing songs so alluring, it is said even the moon listens. Her suitor, Vardhmaan, is a well-to-do doctor so handsome, serious, and dashing that girls feign fevers to be examined by him. If it seems only a fairy-tale marriage could befit such a couple, The Last Song of Dusk tells the far darker and deeper story of a love shaped by kismet and freighted with tragedy, passion, and loss. When their first child dies in a horrible accident, their lives being to unravel, and they seek to start anew in a heartbroken old villa by the sea, where their second child is born. Into their family comes a willful girl, with a taste for scandal and a trace of leopard blood in her veins. With her in their midst and shaking up Bombay's status quo, they learn to navigate the ever changing landscape of love.

Written with an exhilarating verve for language and featuring appearances by Gandhi, Virginia Woolf, and the father of Bollywood movies--as well as one very malicious parrot--The Last Song of Dusk--is an outrageously original novel by a writer of enormous talent. A number one best-seller in India, it has received a Betty Trask Award for debut novels in the United Kingdom.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction--novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
Limited Availability. Ships in 2-4 weeks.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 4 copies from $37.34
 
 
 

More About The Last Song of Dusk by Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi

 
 
 

Overview

Now available again, the best-selling and award winning novel, called "A lush, wildly imaginative fairy tale" (San Francisco Chronicle).

For readers of The White Tiger and The God of Small Things, a dazzling, exuberant, wickedly funny, and moving novel set in post-colonial India that tells tender and enthralling tale of sex, karma, colonialism and, most of all, love in its many guises.

Anuradha Patwardhan is a young woman of such legendary beauty the peacocks line up to bid her farewell when she leaves her family home to meet her future husband. As part of her dowry, she carries with her a gift for singing songs so alluring, it is said even the moon listens. Her suitor, Vardhmaan, is a well-to-do doctor so handsome, serious, and dashing that girls feign fevers to be examined by him. If it seems only a fairy-tale marriage could befit such a couple, The Last Song of Dusk tells the far darker and deeper story of a love shaped by kismet and freighted with tragedy, passion, and loss. When their first child dies in a horrible accident, their lives being to unravel, and they seek to start anew in a heartbroken old villa by the sea, where their second child is born. Into their family comes a willful girl, with a taste for scandal and a trace of leopard blood in her veins. With her in their midst and shaking up Bombay's status quo, they learn to navigate the ever changing landscape of love.

Written with an exhilarating verve for language and featuring appearances by Gandhi, Virginia Woolf, and the father of Bollywood movies--as well as one very malicious parrot--The Last Song of Dusk--is an outrageously original novel by a writer of enormous talent. A number one best-seller in India, it has received a Betty Trask Award for debut novels in the United Kingdom.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction--novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781628726930
  • ISBN-10: 1628726938
  • Publisher: Arcade Publishing
  • Publish Date: November 2016
  • Page Count: 312
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews