menu

The Greenwash Effect : Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isna't Telling You about Their Green Products
by Guy Pearse




Overview -
Going green is the new black for big business. But how real is the climate-friendly revolution that's being advertised? Toyota would like us to think that Mother Nature drives a Prius, Ford wants us to "Join the Green Revolution," and McDonald's has painted its golden arches green. Facebook has even "friended" Greenpeace. All across the globe big corporations are spending big bucks trying to convince us that their policies, actions, and products are earth friendly. But are big brands and the celebrities endorsing them really as green as they claim?

In The Greenwash Effect, Guy Pearse looks behind the corporate fa ade in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and No Logo--and what he finds will startle you. Nothing is sacred and no one is safe from scrutiny: not the World Wildlife Fund or Earth Hour, not Apple or Google, not Oprah or Leonardo DiCaprio. The Greenwash Effect is an entertaining and practical book that helps consumers to pick the truly green businesses from the greenwashers and to demand a higher environmental standard from all.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
Limited Availability. Ships in 2-4 weeks.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 10 copies from $4.47
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Greenwash Effect by Guy Pearse

 
 
 

Overview

Going green is the new black for big business. But how real is the climate-friendly revolution that's being advertised? Toyota would like us to think that Mother Nature drives a Prius, Ford wants us to "Join the Green Revolution," and McDonald's has painted its golden arches green. Facebook has even "friended" Greenpeace. All across the globe big corporations are spending big bucks trying to convince us that their policies, actions, and products are earth friendly. But are big brands and the celebrities endorsing them really as green as they claim?

In The Greenwash Effect, Guy Pearse looks behind the corporate fa ade in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and No Logo--and what he finds will startle you. Nothing is sacred and no one is safe from scrutiny: not the World Wildlife Fund or Earth Hour, not Apple or Google, not Oprah or Leonardo DiCaprio. The Greenwash Effect is an entertaining and practical book that helps consumers to pick the truly green businesses from the greenwashers and to demand a higher environmental standard from all.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781628737264
  • ISBN-10: 1628737263
  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
  • Publish Date: August 2014
  • Page Count: 272
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6.2 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews