menu
{ "item_title" : "Devil's Chew Toy", "item_author" : [" Rob Osler "], "item_description" : "2023 LEFT COAST CRIME LEFTY AWARD NOMINATION: Best Debut Mystery Novel2023 AGATHA AWARD NOMINATION: Best First Novel2023 ANTHONY AWARD FINALIST: Best Novel2023 MACAVITY AWARD NOMINATION: Best First Mystery A POPSUGAR BEST MYSTERY OF 2022A BOOKRIOT BEST MYSTERY OF 2022A CRIMEREADS BEST MYSTERY OF 2022 Perfect for fans of T.J. Klune, Becky Abertalli, and David Levithan, this hilarious, big-hearted LGBTQ+ mystery follows an unlucky in love--and life--gay relationship blogger who teams up with a take-charge lesbian and a fiesty bull terrier to find a missing go-go boy and bring down an international crime ring. Seattle teacher and part-time blogger Hayden McCall wakes sporting one hell of a shiner, with the police knocking at his door. It seems that his new crush, dancer Camilo Rodriguez, has gone missing and they suspect foul play. What happened the night before? And where is Camilo? Determined to find answers, pint-sized, good-hearted Hayden seeks out two of Camilo's friends--Hollister and Burley--both lesbians and both fiercely devoted to their friend. From them, Hayden learns that Camilo is a Dreamer whose parents had been deported years earlier, and whose sister, Daniela, is presumed to have returned to Venezuela with them. Convinced that the cops won't take a brown boy's disappearance seriously, the girls join Hayden's hunt for Camilo. The first clues turn up at Barkingham Palace, a pet store where Camilo had taken a part-time job. The store's owner, Della Rupert, claims ignorance, but Hayden knows something is up. And then there's Camilo's ex-boyfriend, Ryan, who's suddenly grown inexplicably wealthy. When Hayden and Hollister follow Ryan to a secure airport warehouse, they make a shocking connection between him and Della--and uncover the twisted scheme that's made both of them rich. The trail of clues leads them to the grounds of a magnificent estate on an island in Puget Sound, where they'll finally learn the truth about Camilo's disappearance--and the fate of his family.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers4.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/64/385/943/1643859439_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "26.99", "online_price" : "26.99", "our_price" : "26.99", "club_price" : "26.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
Devil's Chew Toy|Rob Osler
Devil's Chew Toy
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

2023 LEFT COAST CRIME LEFTY AWARD NOMINATION: Best Debut Mystery Novel
2023 AGATHA AWARD NOMINATION: Best First Novel
2023 ANTHONY AWARD FINALIST: Best Novel
2023 MACAVITY AWARD NOMINATION: Best First Mystery

A POPSUGAR BEST MYSTERY OF 2022
A BOOKRIOT BEST MYSTERY OF 2022
A CRIMEREADS BEST MYSTERY OF 2022

Perfect for fans of T.J. Klune, Becky Abertalli, and David Levithan, this hilarious, big-hearted LGBTQ+ mystery follows an unlucky in love--and life--gay relationship blogger who teams up with a take-charge lesbian and a fiesty bull terrier to find a missing go-go boy and bring down an international crime ring.

Seattle teacher and part-time blogger Hayden McCall wakes sporting one hell of a shiner, with the police knocking at his door. It seems that his new crush, dancer Camilo Rodriguez, has gone missing and they suspect foul play. What happened the night before? And where is Camilo?

Determined to find answers, pint-sized, good-hearted Hayden seeks out two of Camilo's friends--Hollister and Burley--both lesbians and both fiercely devoted to their friend. From them, Hayden learns that Camilo is a "Dreamer" whose parents had been deported years earlier, and whose sister, Daniela, is presumed to have returned to Venezuela with them. Convinced that the cops won't take a brown boy's disappearance seriously, the girls join Hayden's hunt for Camilo.

The first clues turn up at Barkingham Palace, a pet store where Camilo had taken a part-time job. The store's owner, Della Rupert, claims ignorance, but Hayden knows something is up. And then there's Camilo's ex-boyfriend, Ryan, who's suddenly grown inexplicably wealthy. When Hayden and Hollister follow Ryan to a secure airport warehouse, they make a shocking connection between him and Della--and uncover the twisted scheme that's made both of them rich.

The trail of clues leads them to the grounds of a magnificent estate on an island in Puget Sound, where they'll finally learn the truth about Camilo's disappearance--and the fate of his family.

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781643859439
  • ISBN-10: 1643859439
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Publish Date: February 2022
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds
  • Page Count: 320

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews