menu
Abandoned in Hell|William Albracht
Abandoned in Hell : The Fight for Vietnam's Firebase Kate
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock. Allow Additional 2-3 days for Shipping.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War

"A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young."--Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion's Gate

In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments--some six thousand men--crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.

Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht's men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate's defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.

Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam's heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage.

INCLUDES PHOTOS

 

  • ISBN-13: 9780451468093
  • ISBN-10: 0451468090
  • Publisher: Dutton Caliber
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds
  • Page Count: 400