menu

Abandoned in Hell : The Fight for Vietnam's Firebase Kate
by William Albracht and Marvin Wolf and Joseph L. Galloway




Overview -
An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War

"A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young."--Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion's Gate

In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments--some six thousand men--crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.

Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht's men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate's defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.

Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam's heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage.

INCLUDES PHOTOS

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 32 copies from $6.51
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Abandoned in Hell by William Albracht; Marvin Wolf; Joseph L. Galloway

 
 
 

Overview

An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War

"A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young."--Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion's Gate

In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments--some six thousand men--crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.

Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht's men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate's defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.

Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam's heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage.

INCLUDES PHOTOS

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780451468093
  • ISBN-10: 0451468090
  • Publisher: Dutton Caliber
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews