menu

Adequate Yearly Progress
by Roxanna Elden and Roxana Ortega




Overview -
A debut novel told with humor, intelligence, and heart, a "funny but insightful look at teachers in the workplace...reminiscent of the TV show The Office but set in an urban high school" (The Washington Post), perfect for fans of Tom Perrotta and Laurie Gelman.Roxanna Elden's "laugh-out-loud funny satire" (Forbes) is a brilliantly entertaining and moving look at our education system. Each new school year brings familiar challenges to Brae Hill Valley, a struggling high school in one the biggest cities in Texas. But the teachers also face plenty of personal challenges and this year, they may finally spill over into the classroom. English teacher Lena Wright, a spoken-word poet, can never seem to truly connect with her students. Hernan D. Hernandez is confident in front of his biology classes, but tongue-tied around the woman he most wants to impress. Down the hall, math teacher Maybelline Galang focuses on the numbers as she struggles to parent her daughter, while Coach Ray hustles his troubled football team toward another winning season. Recording it all is idealistic second-year history teacher Kaytee Mahoney, whose anonymous blog gains new readers by the day as it drifts ever further from her in-class reality. And this year, a new superintendent is determined to leave his own mark on the school--even if that means shutting the whole place down.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Audio CD - Unabridged
  • $49.99
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
Limited Availability. Ships in 2-4 weeks.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 2 copies from $70.11
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Adequate Yearly Progress by Roxanna Elden; Roxana Ortega

 
 
 

Overview

A debut novel told with humor, intelligence, and heart, a "funny but insightful look at teachers in the workplace...reminiscent of the TV show The Office but set in an urban high school" (The Washington Post), perfect for fans of Tom Perrotta and Laurie Gelman.Roxanna Elden's "laugh-out-loud funny satire" (Forbes) is a brilliantly entertaining and moving look at our education system. Each new school year brings familiar challenges to Brae Hill Valley, a struggling high school in one the biggest cities in Texas. But the teachers also face plenty of personal challenges and this year, they may finally spill over into the classroom. English teacher Lena Wright, a spoken-word poet, can never seem to truly connect with her students. Hernan D. Hernandez is confident in front of his biology classes, but tongue-tied around the woman he most wants to impress. Down the hall, math teacher Maybelline Galang focuses on the numbers as she struggles to parent her daughter, while Coach Ray hustles his troubled football team toward another winning season. Recording it all is idealistic second-year history teacher Kaytee Mahoney, whose anonymous blog gains new readers by the day as it drifts ever further from her in-class reality. And this year, a new superintendent is determined to leave his own mark on the school--even if that means shutting the whole place down.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781797102856
  • ISBN-10: 1797102850
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
  • Publish Date: February 2020
  • Dimensions: 5.6 x 5.9 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews