menu

All the Things We Lost : A Heartbreaking Historical Novel of Love, Secrets and Hope
by Liz Trenow




Overview -

From the New York Times bestselling author comes the story of two women, two wars, and a secret diary full of heartbreak, despair--and hope. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife, The Nightingale and Pam Jenoff.

I am so afraid for my beautiful husband, and feeling so powerless to help him, that I actually kneeled beside my bed and whispered: 'Dear God, you have brought him home safely. Don't take him from me now.'

1918. As victory bells sound across London, Rose Barker welcomes her darling husband Alfie home. But, injured by a shell in the final days of the war, Alfie struggles with terrifying nightmares, and though Rose desperately tries to comfort him, nothing she does seems to help.

2014. Years later, Rose's great-granddaughter Jess returns from Afghanistan, where she served as a front-line medic. Constantly reminded of those she could not save, Jess's relationship is crumbling, and her life is falling apart.

But just as Jess is at her lowest, she receives an unexpected gift: the diaries of her great-grandmother Rose. And as she turns the pages, Jess discovers a story of enduring love--and hope--which will change her life forever.

What readers are saying about Liz Trenow:


'Simply beautiful... Enthralling... The emotional impact of this book is enormous - I cried so many times, and ached at the injustice and unfairness of it all. But it's also immensely uplifting... This lovely book will remain in my memory for a very long time to come.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Absolutely beautiful. A wonderful story about love, loss, heartbreak and hope... All the characters and the setting come alive in this stunning story... Brilliant... A book that will stay with me for a very long time.' Renita D'Silva, 5 stars

'Heartbreaking... Engaging, compelling and well-written.' Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

'A hugely compelling read with a wonderful insight into the lives of those who lost loved ones during World War 1... Took me by surprise so that I felt very moved and not a little tearful afterwards. Liz Trenow has a real eye for detail so that the settings are described in a way that makes them come to life... Real places and historical events were so skilfully woven into a gorgeous narrative... I really recommend... A moving, evocative, historical read.' Linda's Book Bag, 5 stars

'A wonderful story of human resilience in the face of adversity. It is a joy to read and flows beautifully. I found myself completely absorbed.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Beautifully written... Highly recommended.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved this book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'This book was fascinating and I couldn't put it down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Published in the UK as The Poppy Factory.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 8 copies from $6.78
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About All the Things We Lost by Liz Trenow

 
 
 

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author comes the story of two women, two wars, and a secret diary full of heartbreak, despair--and hope. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife, The Nightingale and Pam Jenoff.

I am so afraid for my beautiful husband, and feeling so powerless to help him, that I actually kneeled beside my bed and whispered: 'Dear God, you have brought him home safely. Don't take him from me now.'

1918. As victory bells sound across London, Rose Barker welcomes her darling husband Alfie home. But, injured by a shell in the final days of the war, Alfie struggles with terrifying nightmares, and though Rose desperately tries to comfort him, nothing she does seems to help.

2014. Years later, Rose's great-granddaughter Jess returns from Afghanistan, where she served as a front-line medic. Constantly reminded of those she could not save, Jess's relationship is crumbling, and her life is falling apart.

But just as Jess is at her lowest, she receives an unexpected gift: the diaries of her great-grandmother Rose. And as she turns the pages, Jess discovers a story of enduring love--and hope--which will change her life forever.

What readers are saying about Liz Trenow:


'Simply beautiful... Enthralling... The emotional impact of this book is enormous - I cried so many times, and ached at the injustice and unfairness of it all. But it's also immensely uplifting... This lovely book will remain in my memory for a very long time to come.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Absolutely beautiful. A wonderful story about love, loss, heartbreak and hope... All the characters and the setting come alive in this stunning story... Brilliant... A book that will stay with me for a very long time.' Renita D'Silva, 5 stars

'Heartbreaking... Engaging, compelling and well-written.' Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

'A hugely compelling read with a wonderful insight into the lives of those who lost loved ones during World War 1... Took me by surprise so that I felt very moved and not a little tearful afterwards. Liz Trenow has a real eye for detail so that the settings are described in a way that makes them come to life... Real places and historical events were so skilfully woven into a gorgeous narrative... I really recommend... A moving, evocative, historical read.' Linda's Book Bag, 5 stars

'A wonderful story of human resilience in the face of adversity. It is a joy to read and flows beautifully. I found myself completely absorbed.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Beautifully written... Highly recommended.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved this book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'This book was fascinating and I couldn't put it down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Published in the UK as The Poppy Factory.



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781786817853
  • ISBN-10: 1786817853
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: January 2019
  • Page Count: 290
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.61 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews