The Battle of Los Angeles
Rage Against The Machine

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About The Battle of Los Angeles



Track Listing

1 Testify
2 Guerrilla Radio
3 Calm Like a Bomb
4 Mic Check
5 Sleep Now in the Fire
6 Born of a Broken Man
7 Born as Ghosts
8 Maria
9 Voice of the Voiceless
10 New Millennium Homes
11 Ashes in the Fall
12 War Within a Breath



  • Genre: Heavy Metal
  • Release Date: May 2012
  • Label: Epic
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Rage Against The Machine; Brendan O'Brien
  • Engineer: Sugar D; Nick DiDia; Russ Fowler; Ryan Williams

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (11/11/99, pp.129-30) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...[BATTLE] is to rap metal what Public Enemy's IT TAKES A NATION OF MILLIONS...was to hip-hop; It brings the noise..."

Spin (5/01, p.112) - Ranked #47 in Spin's "50 Most Essential Punk Records".

Spin (12/99, pp.213-4) - 9 out of 10 - "...a record that perfectly articulates the rap-rock youth rally they themselves spearheaded....They've become a great band that cuts through irony at the same time it piles up contradictions..."

Entertainment Weekly (11/5/99, pp.79-80) - "...This is music made to agitate, not seduce, and at that it succeeds triumphantly....[RATM] make a case that there are still some things worth fighting for." - Rating: A

CMJ (1/10/00, p.3) - Ranked #5 in CMJ's "Top 30 Editorial Picks [for 1999]."

CMJ (11/1/99, p.3) - "...displays [Tom Morello's] virtuosic guitar talents, stomping on effects pedals and churning out resonant, body-slamming riffs that will leave you shuddering....Anger is a gift, and RATM effectively shapes the emotion into compact, blustery songs..."

Vibe (12/99, p.248) - "...a faster cleaner, and far more diverse than anything [they] ever recorded....Rage's music moves confidently forward....BATTLE won't disappoint..."

Urban Latino (1/00, p.82) - 3 out of 4 - "...another justice driven steamroller....their conscientious use of talent and wrath for the forces of good is surely applaudable..."

Kerrang (Magazine) (p.52) - "[T]his was arguably their finest hour. Tight, focused, relentlessly heavy..."

NME (Magazine) (11/6/99, p.46) - 7 out of 10 - "...This record rocks...another album of ranting, churning, slamming heavy funk-metal....Wicked!....Keep raging, mad Yank commies, your planet needs you."


BAM Customer Reviews