Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine
Various Artists

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine



Track Listing

1 Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow) - Justin Vernon
2 Wedding Day in Funeralville - Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band
3 All the Best - My Morning Jacket
4 Mexican Home
5 Six O'Clock News
6 Far from Me
7 Spanish Pipedream
8 Angel from Montgomery
9 Late John Garfield Blues, The
10 Daddy's Little Pumpkin
11 Unwed Fathers - Deer Tick
12 Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian - Those Darlins

Featured Artist: Liz Isenberg



  • Genre: Country
  • Release Date: June 2010
  • Label: Oh Boy
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Josh Talley (Compilation)

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.80) - "The tunes are personalized with minor mutations, capturing the sort of signature life-affirming darkness epitomized by a couplet from 'Six O'Clock News'..."

Uncut (p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] stirring salute to the unflashy genius of John Prine."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.95) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Conor Oberst injects indie rock into 'Wedding Day In Funeralville,' but all of it is done with a loving, humble grace."

Paste (magazine) - "At last, the tribute he deserves. The songs of dirt-road troubador John Prine are malleable -- simple, elegiac tales of people living out simple lives."

Pitchfork (Website) - "Abandoning the ethereal folk of Bon Iver, Justin Vernon invests 'Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)' with an earthy gravity, packing in a novel's worth of detail in just four minutes."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.89) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Respectful covers abound...with the ever-improving Justin Townes 'Son Of Steve' Earle especially affecting on 'Far From Me'..."


BAM Customer Reviews