The Band
The Band

local_shippingFor Delivery
Sorry: This item is not currently available.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About The Band



Track Listing

1 Across the Great Divide
2 Rag Mama Rag
3 Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, The
4 When You Awake
5 Up on Cripple Creek
6 Whispering Pines
7 Jemima Surrender
8 Rockin' Chair
9 Look Out Cleveland
10 Jawbone
11 Unfaithful Servant, The
12 King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
13 Up on Cripple Creek [Earlier Take] - (take)
14 Rag Mama Rag [Alternate Version]
15 Unfaithful Servant [Alternate Version], The
16 Look Out Cleveland [Instrumental Mix] - (remix)
17 Rockin' Chair (A Cappella/Stripped Down)
18 Up on Cripple Creek [Instrumental Mix] - (remix)
1 Chest Fever - (live)
2 Tears of Rage - (live)
3 We Can Talk - (live)
4 Don't Ya Tell Henry - (live)
5 Baby Don't You Do It - (live)
6 Ain't No More Cane on the Brazos - (live)
7 Long Black Veil - (live)
8 This Wheel's on Fire - (live)
9 I Shall Be Released - (live)
10 Weight, The - (live)
11 Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever - (live)
12 Get Up Jake [Outtake-Stereo Mix] - (remix, take, live)
13 Rag Mama Rag [Alternate Vocal Take- Rough Mix] - (remix, alternate take, live)
14 Night They Drove Old Dixie Down [Alternate Mix], The - (remix, live)
15 Up on Cripple Creek [Alternate Take] - (alternate take, live)
16 Whispering Pines [Alternate Take] - (alternate take, live)
17 Jemima Surrender [Alternate Take] - (alternate take, live)
18 King Harvest (Has Surely Come) [Alternate Performance] - (alternate take, live)



  • Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Release Date: November 2019
  • Label: Capitol
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 2

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone - "[T]he gems that echo the sounds of the American South are comforting and familiar."

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.110) - Ranked #45 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...Robertson's stories truly come to life in Helm's man-of-the-soil growl, Rick Danko's high tenor and Richard Manuel's spectral croon..."

Rolling Stone (10/18/69, p.44) - "...The hymn-like quality of the voicings, the use of counter-point and contrapuntal rhythms by the singers, the weaving of voices in and out into a pattern that grows each time you hear it, are the things that make the sound of this music so compelling..."

Rolling Stone (2/3/00, p.61) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...a sound that had a strange glamour and a seductive abstraction....THE BAND was where the group filled in the map....The people were flesh and blood...and they gathered to talk and brag about what mattered to them....The songs were uproarious, full of outrageous double-entendres..."

Entertainment Weekly (9/1/00, p.81) - "...[One] of the best albums in rock history....These remasterings sound incredibly rich, and each has alternate takes....this is reissuing done right." - Rating: A

Q (10/00, p.139) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Even stronger [than their debut, MUSIC FROM BIG PINK] with [Robbie] Robertson's elegiac full bloom..."

Down Beat (10/01, p.66) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This has the authority and radiance of beaten gold..."

No Depression (9-10/00, pp.102-3) - "...An undeniable classic of North American roots music, exploring folk, gospel, country, rhythm & blues, soul, funk, and rock & roll..."

Mojo (Publisher) (10/00, p.126) - "...Their masterpiece, with its myth-creating sepia sleeve photograph and its astonishing breadth of resource and reference..."


BAM Customer Reviews