Beautiful Bad
by Annie Ward


Overview - "Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl "The ending will leave you staggered." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.99
  • $19.70
    (Save 27%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.76
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $13.51
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward
 
 
 
Overview
"Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl"The ending will leave you staggered." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. ParrishIn the tradition of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comes the psychological thriller everyone is talking about, a twisted novel about a devoted wife, a loving husband, and a chilling crime that will stun even the cleverest readers.There are two sides to every story... And every person.Maddie and Ian's love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas, while she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian; her concerns for the safety of their young son; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780778369103
  • ISBN-10: 0778369102
  • Publisher: Park Row
  • Publish Date: March 2019
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6.3 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Psychological
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Psychological

 
BookPage Reviews

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward’s debut has all the familiar ingredients of the recent outpouring of psychological thrillers—dynamic but unreliable female narrators, a story that bounces between different characters’ perspectives, and secrets that remain buried throughout years of friendship or marriage—but it’s set apart by its unusual settings.

Maddie and Jo met as high school students on a summer exchange program in Spain. After college graduation, Maddie is in Bulgaria, teaching English at Sofia University, and Jo is an aid worker based in Skopje, Macedonia, a five-hour bus ride from Sofia. In 2001, the third pivotal character arrives in the midst of Jo and Maddie’s sojourn overseas: Ian Wilson, a security officer serving in the British army. Both women are fascinated by Ian, especially Maddie, who seems to be obsessed with him. Jo and Ian’s fling is brief, leaving Jo bitter and convinced that Ian is hiding evil underneath his humanitarian facade. Maddie continues to harbor feelings for him, even over years with little communication. Eventually, when Maddie returns to New York, she and Ian reconnect, which leads to their marriage in 2012. They move to her hometown of Meadowlark, Kansas—the only place where Ian feels he can cope with everyday life after the horrors he experienced in Bosnia and Rwanda—and start a family together.

Interspersed with these events are chapters from “The Day of the Killing,” though the reader doesn’t know the identities of the victim or killer. Maddie has suffered head injuries twice in her life, which may have affected her brain, and Ian suffers from PTSD. But which one is sick enough to commit a brutal murder?

A twist in the closing pages will catch even the most jaded reader off guard, making Beautiful Bad a good read for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and A.J. Finn. 

 
BAM Customer Reviews