menu

Why Birds Sing
by Nina Berkhout




Overview -
After a very public onstage flameout, a disgraced opera singer is confronted with her crumbling marriage, a prickly and unexpected brother-in-law, and a cheeky parrot named Tulip -- and she must learn to whistle her way through it all. From the author of Harper's Bazaar Hottest Breakout Novel The Gallery of Lost Species comes a charming, lively, and deeply felt story that is perfect for readers of Miriam Toews's A Complicated Kindness and Amy Jones's We're All in this Together. When opera singer Dawn Woodward has an onstage flameout, all she wants is to be left alone. She's soon faced with other complications the day her husband announces her estranged brother-in-law, Tariq, is undergoing cancer treatment and moving in, his temperamental parrot in tow. To make matters worse, though she can't whistle herself, she has been tasked with teaching arias to an outspoken group of devoted siffleurs who call themselves the Warblers. Eventually, Tariq and his bird join the class, and Dawn forms unexpected friendships with her new companions. But when her marriage shows signs of trouble and Tariq's health declines, she begins questioning her foundations, including the career that she has worked so hard to build and the true nature of love and song.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 45 copies from $10.48
 
 
 
 

More About Why Birds Sing by Nina Berkhout

 
 
 

Overview

After a very public onstage flameout, a disgraced opera singer is confronted with her crumbling marriage, a prickly and unexpected brother-in-law, and a cheeky parrot named Tulip -- and she must learn to whistle her way through it all. From the author of Harper's Bazaar Hottest Breakout Novel The Gallery of Lost Species comes a charming, lively, and deeply felt story that is perfect for readers of Miriam Toews's A Complicated Kindness and Amy Jones's We're All in this Together. When opera singer Dawn Woodward has an onstage flameout, all she wants is to be left alone. She's soon faced with other complications the day her husband announces her estranged brother-in-law, Tariq, is undergoing cancer treatment and moving in, his temperamental parrot in tow. To make matters worse, though she can't whistle herself, she has been tasked with teaching arias to an outspoken group of devoted siffleurs who call themselves the Warblers. Eventually, Tariq and his bird join the class, and Dawn forms unexpected friendships with her new companions. But when her marriage shows signs of trouble and Tariq's health declines, she begins questioning her foundations, including the career that she has worked so hard to build and the true nature of love and song.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781770415812
  • ISBN-10: 1770415815
  • Publisher: ECW Press
  • Publish Date: October 2020
  • Page Count: 248
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews