menu

The Body in the Garden : A Lily Adler Mystery
by Katharine Schellman




Overview -
A SUSPENSE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2020

Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Rhys Bowen, Katharine Schellman's debut novel is sure to delight.

London 1815. Though newly-widowed Lily Adler is returning to a society that frowns on independent women, she is determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects the scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect is the dead body in Lady Walter's garden.

Lily overheard the man just minutes before he was shot: young, desperate, and attempting blackmail. But she's willing to leave the matter to the local constables--until Lord Walter bribes the investigating magistrate to drop the case. Stunned and confused, Lily realizes she's the only one with the key to catching the killer.

Aided by a roguish navy captain and a mysterious heiress from the West Indies, Lily sets out to discover whether her friend's husband is mixed up in blackmail and murder. The unlikely team tries to conceal their investigation behind the whirl of London's social season, but the dead man knew secrets about people with power. Secrets that they would kill to keep hidden. Now, Lily will have to uncover the truth, before she becomes the murderer's next target.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 9 copies from $9.99
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Body in the Garden by Katharine Schellman

 
 
 

Overview

A SUSPENSE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2020

Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Rhys Bowen, Katharine Schellman's debut novel is sure to delight.

London 1815. Though newly-widowed Lily Adler is returning to a society that frowns on independent women, she is determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects the scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect is the dead body in Lady Walter's garden.

Lily overheard the man just minutes before he was shot: young, desperate, and attempting blackmail. But she's willing to leave the matter to the local constables--until Lord Walter bribes the investigating magistrate to drop the case. Stunned and confused, Lily realizes she's the only one with the key to catching the killer.

Aided by a roguish navy captain and a mysterious heiress from the West Indies, Lily sets out to discover whether her friend's husband is mixed up in blackmail and murder. The unlikely team tries to conceal their investigation behind the whirl of London's social season, but the dead man knew secrets about people with power. Secrets that they would kill to keep hidden. Now, Lily will have to uncover the truth, before she becomes the murderer's next target.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781643853567
  • ISBN-10: 1643853562
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Publish Date: April 2020
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds

Series: Lily Adler Mystery #1

Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

Cozies: April 2020

International settings unite these three superlative cozy mysteries.

★ The Body in the Garden

Lily Adler is a widow in mourning. Fortunately, dipping a toe back into the social whirl at Lady Walter’s ball should be a doddle; they are old friends, after all. But Lily overhears an argument and then a gunshot, which all leads just where you might expect considering the title: The Body in the Garden. First-time author Katharine Schellman tosses Lily into a moral conundrum, as after the body is found, Lily sees Lord Walter paying someone off to drop the investigation. Finding the truth is the right thing to do, but it might compromise her friends. Sensitive handling of class and race issues common to London in the early 1800s give the story depth, and there are some truly nail-biting moments as Lily finds her way as a sleuth. Readers will love her and be eager for more after finishing this smashing debut.

Murder in an Irish Cottage

Carlene O’Connor’s Irish Village series tangles with ancient superstitions in its fifth installment, Murder in an Irish Cottage. Garda Siobhán O’Sullivan fears that her fiancé, Detective Sergeant Macdara Flannery, may be too close to the crime to check his emotions, as the murder victim in question is his Aunt Ellen. Ellen’s daughter, Jane, appears to know more than she lets on, and their wee village doesn’t disguise its collective relief at being able to knock down the small home Jane shared with Ellen, which they believe to be cursed due to its location on a fairy path. A good old-fashioned finale in which the killer is exposed at a gathering of all the suspects closes this eerie tale with a bang.

Mrs. Mohr Goes Missing

In 1893 Krakow, Poland, class is everything, appearances must be kept up, and women should know their place. Zofia Turbotýnska does her best, volunteering for a charity auction while her professor husband rustles behind the daily papers. When one of the auction’s donors dies mysteriously, Zofia feels called to learn the truth. Mrs. Mohr Goes Missing is an unexpectedly hilarious whodunit from Maryla Szymiczkowa, a pseudonym for authors Jacek Dehnel and Piotr Tarczýnski. Szymiczkowa shows us Zofia’s world through her eyes. She isn’t afraid to critique a funeral for lacking in pomp, and she outdoes the police thanks to long hours in the library with Edgar Allan Poe and a desire to do more with her life than simply micromanage her household. Let’s hope this adventure is the first of many.

 

BAM Customer Reviews