menu
The Bone Garden|Kassner, Heather
The Bone Garden
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life.

This magical story--and the brave girl in its pages--will haunt you in the best way. --Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon

"Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist."

Irreelle fears she's not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life--and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irr elle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.

When Irreelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irreelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

Debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story--illustrated by Matt Saunders--humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.

Evokes the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's subtly magical stories. --Booklist

 

  • ISBN-13: 9781250296894
  • ISBN-10: 1250296897
  • Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
  • Publish Date: August 2019