menu
{ "item_title" : "The Bookseller of Dachau", "item_author" : [" Shari J. Ryan "], "item_description" : "Germany, 1939: The roof is the only place no one can hear us. All the lights in the village blur into the darkness, and the flame on my candle flickers, leaving us with just the glow of the stars. We can't let them take everything from you, I say. Hiding is the only option. When Matilda's childhood sweetheart Hans is in danger, she doesn't hesitate to hide him in her attic. Protecting him from her parents and the soldiers downstairs, she smuggles him food and communicates in whispers. For months, they exist by candlelight. But how long can they survive?America, 2018: Grace opens a mustard-yellow envelope, and her world unravels. She has inherited a bookstore in the small town of Dachau from the grandmother she had no idea existed. Grace visits her legacy--a bookshop on a cobbled lane filled with lost memories. She combs through faded photographs and handwritten letters, unearthing the story of a young woman who devoted her life to returning the keepsakes of Dachau prisoners to their families. A woman who was torn from her one true love--who never gave up hope... As Grace pieces together her family's heartbreaking past, she discovers the long-buried secret of her own identity. But when she learns the truth, will she ever be the same again?This heart-wrenching yet hopeful tale will restore your faith in humanity, and in the power of love to triumph over evil. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Fiona Valpy and Kristin Harmel will be blown away by this breathtakingly gripping page-turner. Readers love Shari Ryan: This book hit me right in the feels, I cried, I sighed... This book will always lay claim to my heart... What an amazing journey. Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This book... I'm still at a loss for words. Such a beautiful, powerful, and emotional story. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Oh my gosh I literally was up all night reading this. It was so worth the lack of sleep. I started reading this novel early in the day and could not force myself to stop. It was so good that I wish I could go back and force myself to slow down, reread it and savor every moment. I loved this novel. I laughed, cried and ultimately at the end I had tears of joy running down my face. Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This book absolutely destroyed me and had me sobbing... Everything about it is just heartbreaking and beautiful and just filled me with so much emotion... One of those books that will always stick with you once you've read it. It's been days and I still can't get this breathtaking story out of my head. I honestly don't think there are words adequate enough to describe how hard I fell for this book and the beautiful story it holds. Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️WowMrs. Ryan blew me away... I felt every word that was written. Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️", "item_img_path" : "https://covers4.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/80/019/871/180019871X_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "9.99", "online_price" : "9.99", "our_price" : "9.99", "club_price" : "9.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Bookseller of Dachau|Shari J. Ryan
The Bookseller of Dachau : Absolutely heartbreaking and totally gripping World War 2 fiction
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

Germany, 1939: The roof is the only place no one can hear us. All the lights in the village blur into the darkness, and the flame on my candle flickers, leaving us with just the glow of the stars. "We can't let them take everything from you," I say. "Hiding is the only option."


When Matilda's childhood sweetheart Hans is in danger, she doesn't hesitate to hide him in her attic. Protecting him from her parents and the soldiers downstairs, she smuggles him food and communicates in whispers. For months, they exist by candlelight. But how long can they survive?


America, 2018: Grace opens a mustard-yellow envelope, and her world unravels. She has inherited a bookstore in the small town of Dachau from the grandmother she had no idea existed.


Grace visits her legacy--a bookshop on a cobbled lane filled with lost memories. She combs through faded photographs and handwritten letters, unearthing the story of a young woman who devoted her life to returning the keepsakes of Dachau prisoners to their families. A woman who was torn from her one true love--who never gave up hope...


As Grace pieces together her family's heartbreaking past, she discovers the long-buried secret of her own identity. But when she learns the truth, will she ever be the same again?


This heart-wrenching yet hopeful tale will restore your faith in humanity, and in the power of love to triumph over evil. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Fiona Valpy and Kristin Harmel will be blown away by this breathtakingly gripping page-turner.


Readers love Shari Ryan:


"This book hit me right in the feels, I cried, I sighed... This book will always lay claim to my heart... What an amazing journey." Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


"This book... I'm still at a loss for words. Such a beautiful, powerful, and emotional story. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING " Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


"Oh my gosh I literally was up all night reading this. It was so worth the lack of sleep. I started reading this novel early in the day and could not force myself to stop. It was so good that I wish I could go back and force myself to slow down, reread it and savor every moment. I loved this novel. I laughed, cried and ultimately at the end I had tears of joy running down my face." Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


"This book absolutely destroyed me and had me sobbing... Everything about it is just heartbreaking and beautiful and just filled me with so much emotion... One of those books that will always stick with you once you've read it. It's been days and I still can't get this breathtaking story out of my head. I honestly don't think there are words adequate enough to describe how hard I fell for this book and the beautiful story it holds." Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


"Wow Mrs. Ryan blew me away... I felt every word that was written." Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This item is Non-Returnable

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781800198715
  • ISBN-10: 180019871X
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: October 2021
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.61 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.59 pounds
  • Page Count: 270

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews