menu
{ "item_title" : "When You Call My Name", "item_author" : [" Tucker Shaw "], "item_description" : "A CBC Young Adult, Teacher & Librarian Favorites 9th - 12th Grade SelectionA Rainbow Book List Top Ten Title for Teen ReadersA School Library Journal Best Books of 2022 SelectionThis is a brilliant affirmation of the power of love on so many levels, with a wide range of appeal. --Booklist, Starred ReviewIn the spirit of the author's massively popular Twitter thread, Tucker Shaw's When You Call My Name is a heartrending novel about two gay teens coming of age in New York City in 1990 at the height of the HIV/AIDS epidemic. Named this summer's most powerful LGBTQ+ novel by GAY TIMES, this book is perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Mary H. K. Choi.Film fanatic Adam is seventeen and being asked out on his first date--and the guy is cute. Heart racing, Adam accepts, quickly falling in love with Callum like the movies always promised. Fashion-obsessed Ben is eighteen and has just left his home upstate after his mother discovers his hidden stash of gay magazines. When he comes to New York City, Ben's sexuality begins to feel less like a secret and more like a badge of honor. Then Callum disappears, leaving Adam heartbroken, and Ben finds out his new world is more closed-minded than he thought. When Adam finally tracks Callum down, he learns the guy he loves is very ill. And in a chance meeting near the hospital where Callum is being treated, Ben and Adam meet, forever changing each other's lives. As both begin to open their eyes to the possibilities of queer love and life, they realize sometimes the only people who can help you are the people who can really see you--in all your messy glory. A love letter to New York and the liberating power of queer friendship, When You Call My Name is a hopeful novel about the pivotal moments of our youth that break our hearts and the people who help us put them back together.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers1.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/25/062/486/125062486X_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "17.99", "online_price" : "17.99", "our_price" : "17.99", "club_price" : "17.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "17.99" } }
When You Call My Name|Tucker Shaw
When You Call My Name
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A CBC Young Adult, Teacher & Librarian Favorites 9th - 12th Grade Selection
A Rainbow Book List Top Ten Title for Teen Readers
A School Library Journal Best Books of 2022 Selection

"This is a brilliant affirmation of the power of love on so many levels, with a wide range of appeal." --Booklist, Starred Review

In the spirit of the author's massively popular Twitter thread, Tucker Shaw's When You Call My Name is a heartrending novel about two gay teens coming of age in New York City in 1990 at the height of the HIV/AIDS epidemic. Named "this summer's most powerful LGBTQ+ novel" by GAY TIMES, this book is perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Mary H. K. Choi.

Film fanatic Adam is seventeen and being asked out on his first date--and the guy is cute. Heart racing, Adam accepts, quickly falling in love with Callum like the movies always promised. Fashion-obsessed Ben is eighteen and has just left his home upstate after his mother discovers his hidden stash of gay magazines. When he comes to New York City, Ben's sexuality begins to feel less like a secret and more like a badge of honor. Then Callum disappears, leaving Adam heartbroken, and Ben finds out his new world is more closed-minded than he thought. When Adam finally tracks Callum down, he learns the guy he loves is very ill. And in a chance meeting near the hospital where Callum is being treated, Ben and Adam meet, forever changing each other's lives. As both begin to open their eyes to the possibilities of queer love and life, they realize sometimes the only people who can help you are the people who can really see you--in all your messy glory. A love letter to New York and the liberating power of queer friendship, When You Call My Name is a hopeful novel about the pivotal moments of our youth that break our hearts and the people who help us put them back together.

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250624864
  • ISBN-10: 125062486X
  • Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
  • Publish Date: May 2022
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.3 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews