menu

Call the Nurse : True Stories of a Country Nurse on a Scottish Isle (the Country Nurse Series, Book One)
by Mary J. MacLeod and Claire MacDonald




Overview -
For fans of James Herriot and Call the Midwife. A Wall Street Journal Bestseller. Over 100,000 sold. Gaelic fortitude meets a nurse's compassion in these wonderful true stories from rural Scotland.

"Julia MacLeod shares unique and enchanting experiences as a nurse in rural Scotland. Her stories will ring true with every nurse--or anyone--who has ever cared for a family or a community, whether in Scotland or America. Call the Nurse is a delightful read." --LeAnn Thieman, author Chicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul

Tired of the pace and noise of life near London and longing for a better place to raise their young children, Mary J. MacLeod (known to all as Julia) and her husband encountered their dream while vacationing on a remote island in the Scottish Hebrides. Enthralled by its windswept beauty, they soon were the proud owners of a near-derelict croft house--a farmer's stone cottage--on "a small acre" of land.

Mary assumed duties as the island's district nurse. Call the Nurse is her account of the first enchanted years she and her family spent there, coming to know its folk as both patients and friends.

Call the Nurse is a treasure of sweet nostalgia.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 24 copies from $3.44
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Call the Nurse by Mary J. MacLeod; Claire MacDonald

 
 
 

Overview

For fans of James Herriot and Call the Midwife. A Wall Street Journal Bestseller. Over 100,000 sold. Gaelic fortitude meets a nurse's compassion in these wonderful true stories from rural Scotland.

"Julia MacLeod shares unique and enchanting experiences as a nurse in rural Scotland. Her stories will ring true with every nurse--or anyone--who has ever cared for a family or a community, whether in Scotland or America. Call the Nurse is a delightful read." --LeAnn Thieman, author Chicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul

Tired of the pace and noise of life near London and longing for a better place to raise their young children, Mary J. MacLeod (known to all as Julia) and her husband encountered their dream while vacationing on a remote island in the Scottish Hebrides. Enthralled by its windswept beauty, they soon were the proud owners of a near-derelict croft house--a farmer's stone cottage--on "a small acre" of land.

Mary assumed duties as the island's district nurse. Call the Nurse is her account of the first enchanted years she and her family spent there, coming to know its folk as both patients and friends.

Call the Nurse is a treasure of sweet nostalgia.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781628725124
  • ISBN-10: 1628725125
  • Publisher: Arcade Publishing
  • Publish Date: May 2015
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 8.25 x 5.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds

Series: The Country Nurse #1

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews