menu
{ "item_title" : "Chaos", "item_author" : [" James Gleick "], "item_description" : "The million-copy New York Times bestseller and finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award that reveals the science behind chaos theory A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers3.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/14/311/345/0143113453_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "23.00", "online_price" : "23.00", "our_price" : "23.00", "club_price" : "23.00", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
Chaos|James Gleick
Chaos : Making a New Science
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

The million-copy New York Times bestseller and finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award that reveals the science behind chaos theory

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

  • ISBN-13: 9780143113454
  • ISBN-10: 0143113453
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: September 2008
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP

Related Categories