menu

Charlie & Mouse Outdoors
by Laurel Snyder and Emily Hughes




Overview -
Charlie & Mouse continue their adventures in this heartwarming tale perfect for newly independent readers.

The fourth book in the Geisel Award-winning series

Young readers will love diving into this hilarious next installment of this award-winning beginning chapter book series. This time, the two brothers and their family are off on a new adventure: going camping Follow along as they take a long drive, have a quick hike, defeat a big lion, hide in a small tent, and conquer the great outdoors--together. There is so much fun to be had along the way--telling stories, fighting monsters, crashing their tent--but best of all is the joy of sharing it with each other.

- A perfect read-aloud book for families and siblings
- Great book for early readers advancing to more complex chapter books
- Critically acclaimed series called top notch by Kirkus

Fans of Mercy Watson, Ling and Ting, Elephant and Piggie books, and Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa will love Charlie and Mouse.

- Books for kids ages 5-8
- Early reader chapter books
- Funny books for siblings
- Kindergarten books

Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children. She lives and writes in a small yellow house in Atlanta, Georgia, which she shares with her husband and two sons.

Emily Hughes is an illustrator (and sometimes writer) who lives in windy Brighton, England, while thinking fondly of her hometown in Hilo, Hawaii.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 47 copies from $3.83
 
 
 

More About Charlie & Mouse Outdoors by Laurel Snyder; Emily Hughes

 
 
 

Overview

Charlie & Mouse continue their adventures in this heartwarming tale perfect for newly independent readers.

The fourth book in the Geisel Award-winning series

Young readers will love diving into this hilarious next installment of this award-winning beginning chapter book series. This time, the two brothers and their family are off on a new adventure: going camping Follow along as they take a long drive, have a quick hike, defeat a big lion, hide in a small tent, and conquer the great outdoors--together. There is so much fun to be had along the way--telling stories, fighting monsters, crashing their tent--but best of all is the joy of sharing it with each other.

- A perfect read-aloud book for families and siblings
- Great book for early readers advancing to more complex chapter books
- Critically acclaimed series called top notch by Kirkus

Fans of Mercy Watson, Ling and Ting, Elephant and Piggie books, and Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa will love Charlie and Mouse.

- Books for kids ages 5-8
- Early reader chapter books
- Funny books for siblings
- Kindergarten books

Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children. She lives and writes in a small yellow house in Atlanta, Georgia, which she shares with her husband and two sons.

Emily Hughes is an illustrator (and sometimes writer) who lives in windy Brighton, England, while thinking fondly of her hometown in Hilo, Hawaii.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781452170664
  • ISBN-10: 1452170665
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books
  • Publish Date: March 2020
  • Page Count: 48
  • Reading Level: Ages 6-9
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 7.4 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds

Series: Charlie & Mouse #4

Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

For readers on the rise

Past the “read me a story” stage? Try these books next!

If your young reader’s relationship with books has progressed beyond sitting quietly as you read aloud to them, this roundup is for you. We’ve gathered three titles of varying lengths and difficulty levels that are perfect for readers ready to go it alone. Each is sure to challenge and delight kiddos who are on their way to tackling stories independently. 

Baloney and Friends

Greg Pizzoli’s Baloney and Friends, a collection of short tales presented as a graphic novel, is the first entry in a new series. A scene-stealer from the start, Baloney is a precocious pig that little ones are sure to adore. In the introductory tale, he tries to hog the spotlight, but he’s soon joined by his pals, who are all equally deserving of attention. There’s Peanut, an imperturbably good-natured horse; Krabbit, a crotchety cottontail; and Bizz, a very wise bee. 

Pizzoli brings the crew’s contrasting dispositions to vivid life in cleverly designed comic panels. When Baloney tries to stage a magic show, Krabbit is skeptical of his skills, while Peanut, a pushover, falls for Baloney’s tricks. Bizz, meanwhile, serves as the voice of reason throughout the proceedings. Whether Baloney is feeling sad or trying to disguise his fear of water when his friends go swimming, his chums will always cheer him up. Pizzoli’s colorful illustrations and easy-to-take-in text will attract up-and-coming readers and leave them wanting more madcap episodes of “the one and only Baloney!”

Charlie & Mouse Outdoors

Story lovers ready to take on a more intricate tale will enjoy Laurel Snyder’s Charlie & Mouse Outdoors. Featuring charming artwork by Emily Hughes, it’s the latest entry in Snyder’s beloved Charlie & Mouse series. This time around, brothers Charlie and Mouse trek into the woods with their parents for an overnight stay that’s full of surprises. 

On the long car ride to the campsite, the boys are bored, but once they hit the hiking trails, the excitement begins. During a walk, they battle a big bush monster and get startled by a wild pig. Afterward in their tent, they shut out the spooky stuff by focusing on things that are nice. “You know what isn’t ever scary?” Charlie says. “Kittens!” As darkness falls, they roast marshmallows with a little direction from Dad. Sundown also brings storytime, a cozy conclusion to an eventful day. 

In Hughes’ delicate yet expressive illustrations, Charlie and Mouse are endearing brown-eyed boys awakening to the wonders of the big wild world around them. Their latest chronicle will engage youngsters while helping them build reading skills and confidence.

Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom

Self-reliant readers primed for a longer, more substantial story will find big fun in Louis Sachar’s Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom. The fourth entry in Sachar’s popular Wayside School series (and the first new Wayside title in 25 years!), Cloud of Doom documents the daily doings of the oddball institution. Wayside is still no ordinary school; Principal Kidswatter shrieks into a microphone to signal the start of the day, and Miss Mush, who runs the cafeteria, serves up pepper-only pizza and spaghetti and feetballs.

Mrs. Jewls’ class is back, too, and filled with the usual suspects, including curmudgeonly Kathy; Dana, an expert at making funny faces; and Jason, who somehow manages to read a 999-page book. Everyone is stressing over a big exam called the Ultimate Test when the formidable Cloud of Doom appears. All manner of strange incidents ensue, and the students struggle to stay on task. 

“Someday, the Cloud of Doom will be gone,” Mrs. Jewls predicts. “And the world will be a much better place. . . . Even Miss Mush’s food will taste good.” Does her forecast come true? Readers will have to find out for themselves. Sachar’s off-the-wall take on academic life is enlivened by Tim Heitz’s ace illustrations. It all makes for an A-plus read from start to finish.

—Julie Hale

 

BAM Customer Reviews