menu

Charming as a Verb
by Ben Philippe




Overview -

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.

Henri "Halti" Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

There is only one person who seems immune to Henri's charms: his "intense" classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy. When she uncovers Henri's less-than-honest dog-walking scheme, she blackmails him into helping her change her image at school. Henri agrees, seeing a potential upside for himself.

Soon what started as a mutual hustle turns into something more surprising than either of them ever bargained for. . . .

This is a sharply funny and insightful novel about the countless hustles we have to keep from doing the hardest thing: being ourselves.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $5.71
 
 
 
 

More About Charming as a Verb by Ben Philippe

 
 
 

Overview

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.

Henri "Halti" Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

There is only one person who seems immune to Henri's charms: his "intense" classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy. When she uncovers Henri's less-than-honest dog-walking scheme, she blackmails him into helping her change her image at school. Henri agrees, seeing a potential upside for himself.

Soon what started as a mutual hustle turns into something more surprising than either of them ever bargained for. . . .

This is a sharply funny and insightful novel about the countless hustles we have to keep from doing the hardest thing: being ourselves.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062824141
  • ISBN-10: 0062824147
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: October 2020
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.4 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

Charming as a Verb

Henri Haltiwanger is the founder of his own dog-walking business, a valued member of the debate team and a popular kid at New York’s prestigious FATE Academy. He attributes his success to his capital-S Smiles and his carefully cultivated ability to charm just about anyone. That ability is especially important now, as Henri, a first-generation Haitian American, counts down the days until he receives his Columbia University acceptance letter, which will fulfill his parents’ “American dream” for him. But when a classmate named Corinne begins blackmailing him into helping her improve her social status, Henri discovers that his trademark charm may not be his ticket to the American dream after all, and that his dream may not be exactly what he thought it was.

As he did in his debut novel, the William C. Morris Award-winning The Field Guide to the North American Teenager, Ben Philippe once again places readers directly inside the mind of a lovable but flawed protagonist. Henri’s conspiratorial and, yes, charming narration feels like he’s letting us in on secret after secret as he navigates the challenges of senior year, college applications, family pressure and friendships. Henri makes some serious mistakes, and it’s satisfying to watch him evolve into a more honest, open and vulnerable person.

Philippe has a true knack for developing rich casts of supporting characters who bring his protagonists’ worlds to life. Here, this includes Henri’s devoted parents, his sneaker-obsessed best friend, Ming, as well as the students and faculty who populate his high school experience. And of course, there’s Corinne, an academic dynamo who marches to the beat of her own drum, reminiscent of other ambitious yet socially awkward teens such as Paris Geller of “Gilmore Girls” or Rushmore’s Max Fischer. Philippe renders every character as a human being with their own aspirations and imperfections.

Give Charming as a Verb to readers looking for a dynamic YA romp, a touch of romance and the permission to question whether what they’ve always dreamed of is truly what they want.

 

BAM Customer Reviews